Just let me hear some of that rock n roll music…

…Any old time you use it.

Don’t mind me. I’m just reliving a childhood moment with a little Young Einstein.

What? You haven’t seen it!

All I can say is Australian films at their best (or should that be worst). :D My brother-in-law, an Englishman of 6’4″ simply adores this film. I think he played me the main track from it, ear drum bursting loud,¬†around¬†5 times straight last time I visited the UK before I convinced him that as much as I love it, enough was enough. ;)

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/prqQKESDrj4&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Ok, so I hear you asking. Why is the Rabid Little Hippy reliving a moment of debatable quality (ok, so I adore the film ;) ) in Australian cinema from 1988? Well, what is Einstein famous for? Yes, the theory of relativity. The iconic E=mc2. And also (apparently) for being the first Tasmanian to put bubbles into beer!

Well, my own beer making experiments have fortunately not involved splitting an atom with an axe, nor blowing up the beer shed (do I even have a beer shed?) but I have successfully put bubbles in my beer. Yes, my nettle beer.

IMG_5702

Here it is 9 days ago when I made up the initial brew.

Having no idea what I’m doing and making half of it up as I go along, I decided I needed to decant it from my improvised beer brewing Fowlers Vacola #65 bottle and into some Fowlers Vacola pint bottles. I filtered it through into the sterilised pint bottles and now have 3 pints of fizzy nettle beer which I am thinking I should leave for around a fortnight before the taste test. Lets see what happens hey. :) In the meantime I am just as happy as anything to have achieved something akin to beer success. :D

3 pints of beer on the wall, 3 pints of beer. If one bottle should fall to the floor I will cry for a long time!

3 pints of beer on the wall, 3 pints of beer. If one bottle should fall to the floor I will cry for a long time!

And we have bubbles.

And we have bubbles.

22 thoughts on “Just let me hear some of that rock n roll music…

  1. Kylie A. says:

    Is the nettle your using like the ‘stinging nettle’ we have growing everywhere or is it a different type of nettle? and if so, how do you stop from getting stung??? I’d love to hear how it tastes and what Martin thinks of it!!

    • Yes, it’s stinging nettle. I used dried nettle but to use the fresh ones, washing up gloves and a bit of caution should see you through.
      Harvest some hun, the fresh tips are probably best, put in a cup with boiling water and drink it like tea. It’s basically a multivitamin and it’s free. :D If the taste isn’t to your liking, add a little honey or chamomile tea and try again. It’s pregnancy and breastfeeding safe and actually good for bubba too I believe. :) My kids will even drink some of my tea when I drink it. It’s brilliant stuff.
      I shall most definitely let you know the taste verdict.

      • Linne says:

        I used to cook the tender young leaves; we ate them like spinach. A wee bit fibrous, but not too much. I wouldn’t use the older leaves unless in a survival situation (mine, not theirs LOL). Once, travelling with our horses through southern BC (from somewhere east of Princeton, to Keremeos, then through Cawston and along the Cawston-Oliver road through to the hills above Oliver, if you want to look it up; this link may take you there: http://maps.google.ca/maps?hl=en&tab=wl Nope, it doesn’t; so when you get to that page, type in Keremeos, BC and look a bit east for Cawston, which is very small. Then you will see the road behind it)We were ‘looking for land’, but had no money; however, we did have salt and a .22 rifle. There were 5 or 6 adults, my son was nearly 4 and my friend’s baby was 6 mo. We had an assortment of horses; two draught horses, a couple of pony mares, a purebred Mountain Welsh stallion and two foals. It was an interesting journey and I have always regretted that we had no camera. Just my memories . . . Anyway, once we turned northish onto the trail that runs behind Cawston and leads up over the hills, then down again to Oliver in the Okanagan Valley, we had to be resourceful about food. My son’s dad brought in squirrels and gophers every day. My friend and I would pick nettle tips by the bagfull. I would simmer the rodents (think rabbit, not rat, please!) in a big pot, fish them out and pick off the meat. Then we dumped in as many nettles as possible, waited for them to wilt, then added some more. After everyone had eaten enough meat and nettles, we shared out the juice, which was full of vitamins and minerals. One day, the men were exploring the woods along the road and found an old cabin with a box under the built-in bed. In the box were 11 quart jars of home-canned peaches. Now a dilemma: we had no idea how long the peaches had been there or how well canned they had been. On the other hand, we hadn’t had a treat for some days . . . what to do?? The adults had a long discussion and finally decided that a couple of the adults would try just a taste, then wait to see if there were any ill effects. That’s what we did; there were no ill effects and we went on to share out one quart every day for 11 days. What a blessing those peaches were! The rest of this story I will continue on my new blog “Thought and Memory” as time permits. I’ll copy this over there now. I love your blog, rabid! You bring back so many memories; I can’t thank you enough!!

        • Linne says:

          I forgot to say that the nettle beer sounds interesting; Do you drink it chilled or room temperature? I tend to prefer room temperature unless it’s not very good quality. I don’t drink often, but my sister and I have a beer with a meal once in a while. I like Alexander Keith’s Red Ale or Pale India Ale; also Rickard’s Red, a Canadian variety. If you’ve tried either, I’d like to know how they compare to your nettle beer.

          • I’ve never even heard of those beers lol. I’m not a drinker but back in the day when I was after a beer to enjoy (as opposed to wasting braincells on) I never mnded a Boags or Cascade (both Tassie beers) or my favourite was Coopers Pale Ale followed by their sparkling. As for nettle beer, I have absolutely no idea. lol It’s chilling in the fridge now for trialing tonight. I don’t drink anymore aside from the rarest of rare tastes but I will be sampling my first ever homebrew, that’s for sure. :) I shall let you know.

        • That would be Fairview Road according to google maps (yep I did look it up). What a journey and what a story! I might bring back the memories but you made them in the first place And LINK THAT BLOG!!! We want to read it!. :D

  2. Kylie A. says:

    P.S. I loved ‘Young Einstein’ too!!

  3. I can’t wait to hear how it goes! I left our apple cider for 3 weeks before tasting. So 2 shouldbe good, I think.

  4. corrielynb says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun and look forward to seeing your success.

  5. LyndaD says:

    OK, ive found it. A difference of opinion. I do not like crazy comedies Australian or otherwise.
    Well done on the brewing. Its exciting. Tomorrow i split my Herman the German Friendship Cake. I will have three to give away. Its been bubbling away for 10 days. I had to feed him on day 4 and he is doing well.

    • Generally speaking I am not a fan either but there’s sort f a bit of nostalgia for me with Young Einstein too. I watched it again last night and groaned the entire way through it. lol. Not as much of a different opinion as first thought I’m afraid. ;)
      Herman the German Friendship Cake requires a LOT more details shared please. It sounds positively fermented! :D

  6. LyndaD says:

    I was given 1/4 of a cake batter 10 days ago by a friend. It has been stired everyday and it rises and bubbles until on day 4 i added flour, sugar and milk and then it has been stirred each day since. It smells like sourdough. Tomorrow i will feed him again and split it into 4. Three are given away to friends and you make the 4th quarter into a beautiful cake with apples and cinnamon etc. I really would like to give you one so i am hoping to slip away for the afternoon. Will give you a call. I dont know how long this has been passed along but im not going to be the one to stop it. I’ll give two more away at my chicken course on Sunday. I’ll do a post when its made but i love the idea that there is a tiny portion of so many people in my cake.

  7. narf77 says:

    Hopefully they don’t explode! I would be putting them in the shed if I was you ;). I remember bringing some of mum’s ginger beer back on a hot day and it exploded on my countertop and put glass into the roof…Let us all know how it tastes when you try it and if you can remember what it was like the next day… ;)

  8. Linne says:

    Lynda, I’ve had that starter. The people at work called it “Amish Friendship Cake”, because it is shared among friends. I loved it. Mine died after the flooding in the apts; I was staying with my Mum and forgot to feed it :-/ I hope to see it again one day.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

