Sourdough and Nourishing Traditions

My sourdough worked! πŸ˜€ I crunched my way through a few slices this morning with its beautiful sourness, bubbles and texture and its divine crunchy crust. The children weren’t such a fan of the crust but at least they are eating traditionally baked bread with the extra goodness from soured bread and wild yeasts. As per request, here is my recipe.

I downloaded the book Simply Sourdough – Baking all natural breads with wild yeasts by Melissa NaaskoΒ for a whole $0.99 to my iPad Kindle and used a recipe from there as my guide – All Day, Bake in the Evening Schedule. As per usual though I timed it poorly. This bread is supposed to rise in the fridge for 12 hours before going into a cold oven but that would have meant it started baking at midnight (not too bright but in my defense I had a rotten headache and a cold yesterday) and I had also placed it in a bowl t rise rather than in the loaf tins so, at 5pm I took it out, kneaded it and placed it in tins set to warm and rise in my kitchen. I baked them around 9pm for around an hour and they worked perfectly.

Recipe:
Feed your starter early in the morning and leave it on the bench to do its thing for 90-120 minutes until it’s bubbly and frothy. Put a cup of starter back in the fridge.
– 1.5 cups starter (that was what I had leftover)
– 2 cups water (weight was about the same as that of the starter)
– 5 cups flour + extra flour to get the right consistency, 1/4 cup at a time.
– 2tsp or to taste, salt. Please avoid iodised table salt and try to get really good quality salt like Irish sea salt, Murry River salt or Himalayan rock salt (I use the latter)
I used my Thermomix to do the hard work of kneading it which meant I kneaded it for about 5 minutes. By hand will take quite a bit longer but the dough should be elastic and smooth.

The recipe said to separate the dough into 2 well oiled bread tins, slash then oil the tops and refrigerate for 12 hours before putting in a cold oven and baking at 375F or 180C for an hour. I refrigerated mine for 5 hours, divided into tins, rose again for 4 hours then baked and it worked just fine. When the bread is cooked, oil the crust t help keep it. I used coconut oil so there is a slight flavour of coconut, as well as the aroma of the tropics when toasting it. Coconut oil is stable so it won’t be harmed by heat.

What is left of my sourdough bread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve recently been reading a book called Nourishing Traditions and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I bought the Kindle version here. It talks about foods and what changes the modern diet has wrought in what we eat, how our bodies process it and why much of what we have been told is good and healthy is simply not good for us or healthy in any way shape or form. We are told that eating saturated fats are terribly bad for us, cholesterol is nasty and that plant oils are in fact the healthiest things we can eat. According to Nourishing traditions, this is absolutely untrue. And this is backed up too. It covers fats, sugar, grains, vitamins, minerals, drinks and a lot more (this is as far as I have read). I don’t think Martin is all that impressed with me reading this book though, not because he doesn’t care for the health of our family but because I am not a particularly quiet reader. I am prone to bursts of laughter, snorting (laughing and disbelief), and loud exclamations. He woke up the other night convinced he was in trouble when I loudly exclaimed “Are you KIDDING me?!” He wasn’t, but in my world the food industry, our government and even our doctors sure are. BIG trouble! I am fast being convinced that we cannot trust a single word that comes out of the mouths of these people. If I go on raving I know you will become convinced I am some crazy conspiracy theorist (maybe I am or am at least becoming so) but I am stunned at what I have read so far in this book and I cannot urge you strongly enough to get yourself a copy and read it. I am only 10% of the way through but I am becoming convinced that this will be one of the most important books I will read in my life.

2 thoughts on “Sourdough and Nourishing Traditions

  1. I think Nourishing Traditions will be on my to read list, I’ve heard it mentioned a few times, and it sounds similar to “In defence of food” by Michael Pollan, and Real food: what to eat and why” by Nina Planck which I have read. I have strong family histories of type 2 diabetes and heart disease, and it is obviuos to me now, that it’s really just diet to blame. My mum is the no fat Nazi, but I gave her a copy of In defense of food, so I hope she’s getting the message now. They’re blaming the wrong foods. Well done on the sourdough, my first loaf was a flop, and I haven’t been game to try again. I bought my beeswax candle kit from a seller on Ebay πŸ™‚

    • Have another go with your sourdough. I have 2 starters, 1 I started with white flour and 1 I started with freshly ground spelt flour. 1st feeding I added organic rye I had to both, then alternated white or freshly ground spelt depending upon which starter, then rye again. I need to get more rye flour but sill keep using just the white and spelt for now. The spelt starter is the one that really took off.
      My family has a history of age-related diabetes too but I KNOW their diets were very high in processed sugars and the extra strain refined carbs and sugars put n the pancreas would HAVE to wear it out sooner rather than later. The logic is really there in everything I have read so far and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I’ll have to check out “In defence of food” and “real food” too. Thanks for the suggestions. πŸ™‚

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

