Sourdough revisited

Well I think I have a workable sourdough recipe now. It has taken several tries and a new sourdough starter but we are there now I think. Well, enough so that I will share the recipe.

I was a little low on flour the other day so by sheer necessity I made a smaller batch. It made 1 nice high singe large loaf which will last my family around 36-48 hours depending on whether we have toast for breakfast or not. It means I’m baking every 1-2 days which is great for the sake of my starter.

I made my starters, one using fresh ground organic spelt flour and the other organic white flour following the recipe with the grapes as previously posted and then when I fed them I used organic rye flour. They seem to dearly love the rye as the silly thing bubbled up so much it overflowed about a 1/2 cups worth… All over my bread bin, down the back and into the bin too. Hence, the loaf of bread in there was ruined. 😦 Nothing like waking up after a bad sleep to exploded sourdough starter.

I used the spet rye starter for this oaf but it should be no difference.

Thermomix sourdough my way. 🙂

200g organic wheat/spelt grain, mill sp 9 for 2 mins.

Add:

600g organic bread flour
400g filtered water – don’t use tap water as the chlorine in it is unfriendly to sourdough yeasts. You can “air off” the chlorine though I believe by laving the water to sit for 24 or more hours.
400g starter
2 teaspoons Himalayan rock salt or other quality salt (please don’t use the crappy iodised table rubbish)
20g good quality oil. I used EVOO but I’m looking for an oil that doesn’t turn rancid when heated.

Mix sp7 10 secs until combined then 3 mins interval. Tip onto floured board, mat or bench and hand knead just until it is abe to be handled without sticking too much. You will need a bit more flour for this, maybe 1/4 cup or so. This is still quite a sticky dough. Mold into your well oiled or lined bread tin, cover with a tea towel and leave on the bench for 7 hours to rise. Yes, 7 hours. Then bake it fr around an hour at 180 degrees C.

Some recent reading has taught me that grains these days, because of the harvesting technique used do not get the opportunity to sprout. Before modern harvesting techniques, wheat was cut down, gathered into sheaves and stood up outside in shocks to rest. In this time it would possibly begin to sprout which broke down certain enzymes present in the grains which make it much harder to digest. You can achieve the same results by soaking grains until you see them begin to sprout and then drying/dehydrating them again but it is time consuming. The same chemical process apparently occurs when bread is left for extended rising time. Hence it is easier to digest, and in the case of sourdough, has a good chance for the yeasts to multiply, do their thing and rise the bread.

I have a history of later onset gluten intolerance running in my family and I suspect that I have some of the early symptoms so this is a technique that is helping minimise the effects and it is definitely working for me.

I also heard the other day that wheat has been selectively bred over the years to increase the gluten content (selective breeding of plants not GMO) and wheat now contains a LOT more gluten. I can’t source the article I read but I think it used to be around 3% and is currently up to 50% or something incredibly high. No wonder gluten intolerance seems to be on the increase!

Anyway, the long rise time works well for me with the children too. I make the dough just after breakfast whilst I clean up the bomb site kitchen and then I bake it around dinnertime. I can then make use of the oven heat if I need to oven for dinner too. 🙂 Then my darling husband gets to try it out first as I make him breakfast to eat on his way to work – homemade organic sourdough with homemade homegrown lemon marmalade and a coffee. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sourdough revisited

  1. narf77 says:

    Hi there! I have recently discovered your lovely blog through another one and I just wanted to give you kudos for your sourdough triumph. I, myself, had very little luck with Herman my starter as he decided long before I picked his alcohol scented sodden overflowing package from the local post office that he was NOT going to fit into anyones idea of “organised” and so, despite rising and falling magnificently (I agree with the rye comment!) and attempting to spread all over the kitchen, Herman has been dehydrated. Herman gave me vinegar bricks and then Herman gave me tasty Dwarf bread. Neither results gave me anything edible and even the possums had a hard time working their way through the results. Its good to see more Aussie sustainable websites and hopefully we start to make a difference to our mainstream blog readers :). Keep up the amazing work

  2. Every time I read about someone being successful with sourdough I think I should have another go…. the thing is that we really don’t eat much bread and now I have visions of this monster overtaking my kitchen 🙂 Very interesting what you have written about grains and how they grow them now. I have made soaked oatmeal bread which was lovely. I too am glad to have discovered your blog.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

