1 more sleep!

Whew! We have had a pretty crazy busy couple of weeks here, preparing and getting things ready for the move as well as general every day stuff and I also had the wonderful chance to come and be assistant midwife to a goat! Things didn’t quite go to plan – I missed the first one by about 70 minutes and the next 2 by around 3 hours. The timing just wasn’t in my favour this time but I did get snuggles from an hour old kid doe which was amazing and the opportunity to bottle feed all 3 of them a few days after. You’d think I’d blitz that tast, what with having breast and bottle fed 3 children but no, apparently feeding human kids and goat kids are two different things. Who knew! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, we have purchased a trailer, sourced fencing material from the Ballan Transfer Station, planted more seeds and planted out our hanging gutter garden. Once it is up and in place at Ballan I will take many photos, I promise. In the meantime, thisย is where I got the idea. It’s planted with mixed pick as you go lettuces, spinach, rocket and 4 sugar snap peas to climb up the connecting cables.

Our chooks have started laying again too so we are back into eggs again and I was lucky enough to be given 6 duck eggs to try last weekend too. I ended up with around 30 eggs, raning from 90g to about 35g in size in my fridge.

We’ve also sourced our tools, decided on our garden beds and purchased our seed potatoes which are ready to be planted as soon as we get our crates in and ready to go. Exciting times

So exciting in fact I didn’t even realise it was the AFL grand final this weekend! Neither of us follow Aussie Rules footy, although come World Cup Football time you will find 2 very sleep deprived idiots parents functioning on copious amounts of coffee and the adrenaline from the last England or Australia win. We will be up at the house as of lunchtime tomorrow getting in the gardens and fences. And if anyone else out there fancies dodging the last insane day of footy fever (unless we are unlucky enough to have another draw) and come dig up some grass, you are VERY very welcome to come and help. ๐Ÿ™‚

Signing off for a while until the insanity of the move settles down and I will be back with many photos and updates. Stay strong in the eco fight.

Peace. Out.

5 thoughts on “1 more sleep!

  1. Ugh. Moving. May the force be with youโ€ฆ or something!!
    Can’t wait to see photos!

  2. wow, that went quickly! Good luck with the move, can’t wait to hear and see more ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. narf77 says:

    Ditto…can’t wait to see photos :). I wish we could help you dig out grass but we have to dig our own grass and plant out our own poor potted babies before spring turns into earth baking summer and we can’t dig any more!

    • With snow predicted this morning only 30 minutes from Ballan I don’t think I’ll be planting too many plants out sadly but I will need to get the garden beds in at least. Here’s hoping the rain holds off or I will be forced to mop and clean instead.
      Good luck with your own gardening work.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

