Operation Homestead: Day 2

Exhausted but exhilarated. 3 spud boxes planted, 1 no dig garden in place to do its thing, 3 filthy kids asleep, 1 stuffed husband and 1 stuffed and excited me.

Found a frog today in the trailer load of compost – a welcome gift and made me think of your post 23thorns. 60 seconds later I’m screaming and heading for the hills at the unwanted 10cm long centipede also found in the compost. I did muck back in after its demise. Bleuch!

Met our farmer neighbours and their older son who live behind us (the chickens owners), Martin helped out a new friend in town and the kitchen has had its final measure up and the new kitchen will be ordered tomorrow. Things are really moving now. Hoping for a quiet day at home tomorrow which I will need to wash all the filthy muddy clothes! lol

7 thoughts on “Operation Homestead: Day 2

  1. 23thorns says:

    Frogs are fine. For some reason, though, centipedes are bloody terrifying- much worse than spiders or scorpions.

  2. narf77 says:

    Mucking in and bums up feeds the soul and you are finding a sense of community…welcome to the country girl! 🙂

  3. Yes, we are definitely finding our community. I haven’t known my neighbours like this since I was a child growing up! Between our neighbours and broader Ballan community, and you all on here, we have an incredible community about us now. Very blessed.

  4. sophiewegat says:

    Yikes about the centipede! All sounds grand though.

  5. […] excavating the front garden on Saturday and Sunday. We’ve come across this frog before (here, here, here and here) but I’ve not had much luck finding a name and indeed I’ve not […]

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

