Operation Homestead: Days 3 and 4

Homesteading, I’ve decided, is a LOT harder than I thought. I never envisioned putting in the garden beds to be quite as hard as it actually is. So hard that I’ve put my neck out. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I spent yesterday pretty much up close and personal with a wheat pack. My kids thought it was great. They had full free-ranging freedom! lol A trip to the osteopath has eased things up tremendously and another treatment is booked for Thursday. Here’s hoping I can wield a spade on Saturday.

Maxxie and the chickens mutually not caring about each others presence.

Anyway, I’m now on the mend and planning out our weekend. I’ve advertised our new house’s existing kitchen on Freecycle and that will be picked up on Sunday, and the carpets will be picked up probably during the week as well. The new kitchen is ready to be ordered – just awaiting the final quote which we should get tonight. It’s exciting times here.ย We also enjoyed the sunshine in the garden today and to my delight we had 3 chickens free ranging within a metre of our Maxxie cat who didn’t bat an eyelid! We can only hope that our Minnie cat does the same thing.

Allegra helping with the bigger seeds – the pumpkins

In anticipation of the gardens being ready and the warmer weather we seem to be having I started planting the seeds for the “plant after the last frost” plants. Many of them don’t like being transplanted, such as corn, pumpkins, sunflowers, beans, peas and zucchinis, but with the exception of the peas and beans, I can get them all started growing in newspaper pots which can be planted straight into the garden, pots and all. It gives me a head start on the growing season which I am realising will be shorter than what I am used to in Melbourne. The difference between a temperate Melbourne climate and the it’s around 500m above sea level cold climate Ballan I guess.

Anyway, time for the wheat pack and a nice hot chocolate here now that peace finally reigns (children are all finally in bed).

6 thoughts on “Operation Homestead: Days 3 and 4

  1. I laughed and laughed and laughed at your first sentenceโ€ฆ Our osteopath loves our house. I think our projects have boosted her business two-fold.

    A new kitchen is pretty much the most exciting thing I can imagine! Congrats on your progress!!

  2. narf77 says:

    I can’t afford an osteopath let alone manage to see a doctor here in Tasmania as they have stopped taking new patients! Oh well…I will just have to learn to garden sideways won’t I? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Stopped taking new patients?! You could always find someone to stick some needles in, acupuncture style. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Hmmm, gardening sideways. Could be interesting although I’m not sure I’d really like to try. Hope you’re injuries aren’t too bad.
      You’ve got me thinking though (thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ ) about what would I do if Peak Oil had struck and an osteo wasn’t available or affordable or reachable. I’m guessing I’d stick with heat and cold, hot showers, probably a poultice of comfrey and even calendula etc. I know they’re both healing herbs although I really need to find an anti inflammatory to add in there. Guess I’m off to hit up my friend The Eco Mum (she has a Facebook page and a blog) to find out what I need to know. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • narf77 says:

        Cheers for the heads up on Eco Mum ;). I can’t work out if its the gardening, being dragged around behind our 2 amstaff dogs (me flying out backwards as they rampage across the countryside…), stress or the fact that the dogs have decided to start sleeping with us and I now have to put my pillow at the end of the bed…sigh…we country folk certainly know how to experience life don’t we! ๐Ÿ˜‰ (sideways! ;))

  3. lol. Not sure I can yet call myself country folk but In a few more weeks…
    And I would say all of the above in regards to being stiff and sore. They all sound like they would add to your discomfort. At least our cats are small enough they don’t take up too much room. Wish I could say the same about the small person who inhabits our bed from the wee small hours of morning. He takes up more space than an adult and kicks like a mule! lol

  4. Amy says:

    Yay for using Freecycle. You will be making someone happy and one less pile in some landfill.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

