A hard goodbye

It’s time for me to say goodbye. I’m actually quite sad to say it too and it is surprisingly hard to do so. Embarrassingly hard I’m ashamed to say. It’s come to the time when I need to close my Facebook account.

I am one of those people who doesn’t often do things by halves. And I’m not very good at setting my self goals or limits and sticking to them either. So, needless to say, Facebook is a major time black hole for me. I will sit down just to check on something and still be there with my backside glued to the chair an hour (or more) later. It makes me late for things, cranky when I realise how little time I have to get everything done and my time spent doing housework, with my kids and with my husband is all eaten into. 😦 This closure has been on the cards now for a few months and I have managed to limit some parts of it – the games being a huge part that has been shut down for a few months. It was wretchedly and embarrassingly hard to begin with (nothing like cutting out an addiction hey) but now there is only the rare moment I miss them. Well, more that I miss the distraction. And I know that it will be a similar once I close my Facebook account. It also means the Rabid Little Hippy page will close, although I will continue to blog.

Aside from spending time with my family, once we move we will be taking on a lot of extra work, with a lot more chickens, the veggie gardens, possibly goats and lambs in the future and also making many of our own foods like cheese. I’d also love to have a go at making bacon, prosciutto, sausages and salami, all of which will require the time currently spent on Facebook (and probably more time yet again).

So, the statuses are up, the email and phone number collection is underway and I am planning to close the account Monday morning.

3 thoughts on “A hard goodbye

  1. Oh noes. 😦 It will be sad to see you go. Thankfully I subscribe to your blog, so I am glad not to miss out on the progress of the homestead. But you’re right, it is one hell of a distraction. And it’s easy to become addicted.

    I’ve always been rather utilitarian about it. For me, the positives outweigh the negatives. Having said that, it would be interesting to see what life would be like without it. I am sure I would be more productive. But I would also miss opportunities–I generate a lot of business leads through Facebook, so my business would surely take a hit.

  2. Account is closed. FREEDOM!

  3. narf77 says:

    I am thinking about closing my account to. It is a major time waster and aside from keeping in touch with relatives interstate and old friends it has started to wear thin with Facebook starting to charge for postings etc. Good on you for cutting your ties! I am not brave enough to yet, but the day is coming soon. I agree with your first poster, I am glad that I have subscribed to your blog and look forwards to future posts regarding homesteading, permaculture etc. with great anticipation πŸ™‚

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

