Herman AKA Hermy the Thermy

Hermy has been waiting patiently for a proper introduction. It’s well past time I introduced him to you all.

Hermy

Hermy is my Thermomix. The Thermomix is, to put it succinctly, a kitchen crammed into a single, very well built appliance. It can chop, beat, mix, emulsify, mill, knead, blend, cook, stir, steam, weight and melt. Hermy is very important to me in being able to provide my family with nutritious meals that are quick and easy to prepare without needing to buy expensive and preservative laden jars of sauces etc.

Firstly, let me say that I hate cooking. I don’t mind baking but I don’t enjoy food preparation, the cooking and most particularly I hate cleaning up multiple saucepans, boards, utensils and bowls. So, if I’m cooking it is mostly the same meals prepared over and over. Simple meals they are too. Hermy takes most of the hard yakka out of cooking though. He cooks perfect rice in 15 minutes (I can burn rice with flair), and can steam veggies at the same time. He can boil eggs (something else I am hopeless at), cook pasta, grind flour, make casseroles, make soup, chop up a coleslaw, make easy mayonnaise, butter chicken from scratch, tikka masala paste (my husbands favourite), a divine fruit sorbet, creamy mashed potato, freshly ground flour, soups, casseroles, risottos, custards and much much more! What he can do is pretty much limited only by your imagination and ingredients. There are a few things he doesn’t do though. He doesn’t bake bread, although he makes and kneads the dough beautifully, he doesn’t cook steak, won’t freeze ice-cream although he will make it ready to go in the freezer and he doesn’t get hot enough for popcorn. He also cooks to a maximum of around 100 degrees Celsius (hence why no popcorn) so the ingredients aren’t heated too much killing the nutrients in them.

Empty bowl, quartered and peeled onion, chopped in 5 seconds, sauteed in butter for 3 minutes.

He comes complete so there is no need to buy extra attachments or gear to be able to make different things. In fact there are very few extra accessories that can be bought. It comes with an internal cooking basket which you use for cooking rice (among other things), the lid and measuring cup (not with ml or fl oz but some recipes call for MC or 1/2 MC amounts), the steamer tray known as the Varoma and the spatula which has a nifty hook on it for lifting out the basket. There is also the butterfly or whisking attachment. The only other official accessories I know of are the bread mat which I don’t yet have and the Thermoserver, an insulated stainless steel bowl that will keep cooked food hot for ages. I have 2 of these and I use one almost exclusively for making yoghurt. They are well worth the purchase.

Are you wondering yet where you can get one? They aren’t sold in shops, only through demonstrations which are easy to organise – just click here to find out how to book a demo in Australia or let me know if you’re in Western Melbourne or surrounds and I can hook you up to a consultant. For those overseas, just google Thermomix and your country. 🙂 There is no obligation to buy if you have a demo but you will have had the opportunity to see a great machine in action AND taste some of the foods it can make. Yep, a demo is kind of like having a dinner party that someone else comes and cooks for you. At my demo we started off with mixed berry sorbet, followed with garlic and herb dip, then coleslaw, mushroom risotto and fresh bread rolls and finished off with a lovely lemon custard. You can place an order for your Thermomix on the spot and there are payment options available too. The best bit is that your consultant is there for after sales support. In fact my consultant has become a very very dear friend to me.

They aren’t the cheapest appliance out there, I have to be very honest, but the price truly reflects the quality of workmanship. It is a German company – Vorwerk – so the engineering is, as always, of superior quality and many people, myself included, sell appliances that have had their jobs taken over by the Thermomix so you can recoup some of the money. And we save a lot of money on our groceries as we no longer need to buy jars of sauces or ready made meals. It has, I would say, paid for itself in food savings. And I would use Hermy at least twice a day on average, sometimes up to 6 or 7 times. I may make porridge or pikelet batter in him, clean him, make hot chocolates, clean him, make bread dough, clean him, make lunch in him, a milkshake in the afternoon, clean him, then say rice, then chicken tikka marsala for dinner, custard or sorbet for dessert and later on a hot chocolate for me before bed. There’s a potential 9 or even 10 uses in a day. If we bake cakes or biscuits I would also make the batter/dough in him. Of course this isn’t a daily menu but I would say 5 times a day on average at least. 😀

My thoughts on owning a Thermomix are, plretty clearly, rating it VERY highly. There are some things it doesn’t do and others that can maybe be done better by other instruments, but in our household, Hermy has allowed us to do away with many other appliances and there are others we will never need to get (rice cooker, coffee grinder, milk frother, stick blender, bread maker, digital scales, steamer, mix master and there are others. It’s allowed me to make a lot more room in my pantry and cupboards which is never a bad thing and I love that I know EXACTLY what ingredients are in my veggie stock (so often they are not what they seem) and that I can use the high powered blades to work with ingredients that I would have otherwise been limited with (butternut pumpkin soup with the skin and seeds still on – more nutrients and flavour). I love my Hermy the Thermy and wouldn’t be without him now. He has been a large part of the eco jurney we have taken with eating less processed foods so he deserves a lot of credit and recognition in my book.

Love you Hermy.

7 thoughts on “Herman AKA Hermy the Thermy

  1. Mine is called the Beast, as I am the only one to like it.

  2. Hi there LRH! Enjoyed reading your post. I’d heard about Thermomix some years ago through my husband who has been raving (on and off) about the thing ever since. See, he’s a gear freak, I’m not and I’ve never been one for fancy kitchen gadgets especially ones with such a hefty price tag. Anyway, pester power won out in the end and just last Friday, he organised a surprise demo for my birthday. We were treated to a 6 course meal starting with a 5 second beetroot salad & 4 second hommus. It goes without saying that I’m now the proud owner of a TM31 and I already wonder why I waited so long. I LOVE IT, in fact I’m obsessed with it so much so that I didn’t want to go to work this week but instead wanted to stay home and cook!!! The efficiency and ability of it are unbeatable.
    Good luck with your new life – it sounds fantastic.

    • They are a little addictive to start with. I found myself getting a lot more exotic with cooking as things were actually too easy with Hermy. I cooked red lentil Dahl for lunch yesterday, and I often do pikelets for lunch. The salads are brilliant though. Coleslaw in literally seconds. My favourite is guaranteed lump free custard. Or fruity dream made ith frozen pineapple. Yummo!

  3. narf77 says:

    I envy you your thermomix…when I say envy…it’s a sort of seething backburning desire that ignites spontaneously whenever I see them. I bought a vitamix and an Excaliber dehydrator years ago but can’t justify the cost of a thermomix no matter how I try :(. I know it does EVERYTHING but so do my hands, a knife, our stove and some other cherished appliances and so I have to occaisonally lust after thermomixes in a sad sort of generic way.

    • The Thermy is a wonderful tool but you are right. There is nothing it can do that cannot be done using either other tools or by hand… The main difference is just time taken. I’ll bring it with me should I come to visit. Then we can play. 🙂

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

