I don’t like Monday’s

At the moment I really don’t like Mondays. Mondays are the day of “back to reality” for most of us, either with work or studies or stay at home parents who are back to the role of single parenting throughout the day at least. For me, I’m back to looking after 3 kids by myself (Martin is a wonderful hands on dad) and it means I’m back to face the consequences of 2 days spent in Ballan – dishes, laundry, egg hunting (I cannot find where they’ve been laying which either means they’ve gone on the blink again or they’ve got some very very cunning place to hide their eggs. I suspect it’s the former) and all the other domestic duties that seem to accumulate whilst no-one is looking. Added to that, after 2 days of huge amounts of freedom, we are back to a smaller area with less toys and less available freedom for the kids. Monday is the day when they rattle the bars of the cage so to speak. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I also have 2 cats who’ve not seen more than a fleeting glance of us at meal times and who demand their due in tummy scratches and snuggles. And finally, Monday is the day that I pay the consequences for my actions.

I had a headache on Sunday. I’d carried Orik on my back in our Ergo carrier all day Saturday. He’s around the 14 kgs mark so he’s no light weight and I knew my neck was complaining when I woke with a s ore head (definitely not a hangover – I don’t drink). And shoveling a trailer load of manure on Sunday afternoon was all to much and this morning I woke to another headache. I hate headaches but I resent popping pills for them too. My headaches are always caused by something being not right and if I can fix whatever isn’t working the pain will go away. I KNEW my neck was absolutely stuffed (my osteo is well impressed at the level of tension I can work into those well abused muscles in the space of two days) and my lower back wasn’t all that much better. He’s managed to remove most of the muscle tension, cracked a few bits and bobs and now things are considerably better. Thanks Saul. ๐Ÿ™‚

We achieved a bit today though. Last night I’d battened down the hatches due to a slight risk of frost which, in our little hollow means a fair chance I reckon. I needed to get back up there and uncover all the plants again from under their straw or composted manure bedding. Everything has survived which is great but I don’t yet know if there was actually any frost. I know there is another chance Wednesday though so we might be repeating the performance then. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I found a few more beans pushing their way through the soil and I also planted out a few dozen more but Borlotti beans, Cherokee Wax Butter beans and Scarlett Runner Beans. Narf, you’d be well proud of me as I totally ignored the rules on how close I should be planting them together. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also planted out some of my herbs into my tyre gardens. I’ve been doing some research on tyres and they can leach heavy metals, cadmium and lead into the soil so you do need to be very careful about what you plant in them. Beans were recommended as low cadmium absorbing plants. I am hoping peas will be the same but I will be looking closely as to weather my herbs will be ok in there and the same with my sunflowers. More research to come on this.

Well, off for an early night here and hoping Tuesday is a better day.

4 thoughts on “I don’t like Monday’s

  1. narf77 says:

    You little bean rebel you! ;). Have you checked out those Tepary beans yet? I am VERY proud of you for the rebelious way in which you planted your beans…no sodding hybrid seed hogging bollocks is going to tell YOU how to grow! Bring it sister! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I affinionate (that’s a new word by the way…it’s a combination of many but can be used for even more…I magnanimously deposit it in your verbal artillery…) with your bump home to reality. At least you can mess about with technology even though you may have to lie down to do it and I also agree with you about over the counter medication. I ONLY take it when something seriously out of whack is happening or a headache goes for 3 days. Over here doctors are a scarce thing and we don’t have one because all of the locals are not taking any more customers. I can probably count on 2 hands the amount of times that I have been to see the doctor in the last 20 years so I guess I should just be happy with my good health (and hope beyond hope that I don’t need one any day soon!). I am glad that the frost didn’t bugger up your beans. Nothing worse. Our bean hatching experiment proved something to me. We uprooted those little babies out of their containers, most of the borlotti’s ended up with exposed roots (Steve is NOT a gentle transplanter…) and I was a bit worried that most of them would at least suffer a degree of transplant shock (as I am NOT a gentle planter ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) but every single bean is standing tall and thriving! I had serious attrition from half of my punnet grown seedlings (most of them from the “budget” range at K-Mart…take note!)…budget is NOT budget if you only get 4 seedlings out of every punnet that manage to struggle on and survive. Next year we will grow everything ourselves from open pollinated seed but we really wanted something in our garden this year and with a short growing season we needed to take the road travelled most by mainstream veggie producers…next year…we get serious! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I wondered how your beans would go as they’re usually a sow direct kind of seed. As are so many of the punnets of seedlings one finds in Bunnings and K-Mart. Out to rip off the unknowing virgin gardeners. That gives me the irrits, but I digress.
      I’ll pop pills if I have to cope with the kids or just have too much to do to have a headache to deal with it. Sadly yesterday I’d tried homeopathics (headache, anti-inflam, stress and hormone balancer drops trying to cover all aspects), paracetamol, ibruprofen, self massage (advice was to jam my fingers into the tight spot and try to release the tension but it was too tight), heat and sleep but it took me 8 hours to mostly shift it. Ghastly. A deep digging osteo and some arnica cream has done most of the job though.

  2. I used to pop pills at the first sign of a headache. Now not so much. I’ll try other things first.

    It’s hard to believe you guys are having temps low enough to get frost. Our minimum overnight temp last night was 27 degrees. At 7am the temp was 29 degrees with humidity in the high 80’s. Hence the air con went on very early this morning.

    • Your overnight temperature is our expected high today. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Assessing a headache first is a good thing as overuse of pain relief, just like with antibiotics, can build up resistance over time. I’d prefer to sleep them off whenever I can with a heat pack and no screaming kids. Alas, that was simply not an option for me yesterday.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

