Have you ever wondered what to do with the bones from your cooking? I had no idea that they can be composted! A great way to help keep ur rubbish bins less full and give back even more to our gardens and the earth.

Healthy Harvest Kitchen Gardens

Just a quick tip today about how to recycle all your household food waste. I was at a friend’s house on the weekend and I asked her what she did with her bones from cooking. She said that she put them in the bin. Since she composted everything else, I had just assumed she would compost the bones too. Then it occurred to me that maybe people don’t know how to deal with them!

Here is what we do. Put all the bones in a plastic bag in the freezer. Add to the same bag whenever you have bones. When it’s full or inconveniently large, use the bones in a hot compost or just simply dig a hole 30cm deep and bury them. That should be deep enough to keep rodents etc. away. Make sure your doggy doesn’t see you though! As long as you don’t let the bag defrost…

View original post 92 more words

One thought on “

  1. narf77 says:

    Composting bones? Do tell! I put them through my bone incinerators aka “dogs”…no bone problems left BUT I do end up with another compost problem…lucky the worms like it! 😉

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

