A Day in Ballan that wasn’t quite how I planned

Today hasn’t quite gone as planned. In fact, I’m pretty glad it hasn’t. It’s been fun.
The plan was to come up early to Ballan, pick up some soil, finish off the tyre garden beds and the last few bits of the chook pen. Instead, we’ve arrived after lunch in foul weather (after 40C degrees last week, the 6C my car thermometre is telling me is a little hard to take) and found several cars in our back garden, a giant hole and detached sewer lines. Definitely no room for me to navigate the car with the trailer. I could barely turn around without the trailer. And our trailer was full of gravel anyway. Hmmm. Now what to do?

I tossed up the idea of visiting friends but our first port of call had to be lunch for the starving troops. We headed into the supermarket and grabbed some tasty treats. I was trying to figure out where to have lunch when I saw the train station so we parked up opposite the station to watch for trains. Now that we are done with lunch I think we might head home for some more packing.

Moving day is still a bit up in the air as our builder is still tiling but we may be able to move Monday. Even so we might start moving up and store stuff in the tent until the tiles are laid and grouted. With carpet on Thursday and the glazier to do shower screen, mirror and replace the broken glass next Wednesday, we are so close I can taste it! Looking forward to baking in my new oven and cooking us all a meal in my new kitchen (yes Martin, the kitchen IS mine. πŸ˜‰ )

Think I’ll be up again Thursday or Friday to plant my Tagasaste trees (Tree Lucerne) and I’ll bring the chooks up then too. Maybe even the bed frames. πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “A Day in Ballan that wasn’t quite how I planned

  1. narf77 says:

    Its like licking the sweet shop windows in anticipation…just don’t let the tiler catch you doing it or he might expect his payment up front! ;). Again, it is so very satisfying to be following your moving adventure from the comfort of my computer chair here in blogosphere land where everything is virtual and moving no longer exists. I still twitch whenever anyone mentions the dreaded “M” word and have decided that should global warming find the river at our doorstep, I am just going to build up! Have a fantastic move and don’t go claiming that kitchen quite yet… your first cooking adventure might be accompanied by 40C+ temperatures and you might actually want to hand over the reigns to Martin after all πŸ˜‰

    • Na, already checked the temperature and the hot day is Thursday! Hence I’m a coming up on Thursday to finish that desperately needed planting. And when it comes to baking cakes, that’s kind of my area, both in the baking AND in the eating. It’s a plan for sourdough Christmas cake and sourdough chocolate cake for Allegra’s birthday (my princess is 3 on Tuesday!) and it means with my newly discovered intolerance to Phytic Acid, I can have my cake and eat it too. πŸ˜€
      Our builder John, who is also our tiler, has been absolutely brilliant! Apart from being a cheeky sod he’s been really honest every step of the way and when he’s been uncomfortable telling me my plans to move have been delayed he calls Martin to pass on the news. I’m not particularly upset either because he has been so up front (albeit scared to tell me) and he has explained each step too. Chris who is helping him has also been fantastic. There is a LOT of professional pride in their work. And he knows we are moving bits n bobs up but he also knows we will respect any unfinished work. He would tan my hide (probably literally) if I broke one of the tiles before he’d finished. πŸ˜›

      • narf77 says:

        Your sourdough Christmas cake and chocolate cake sound amazing…give Allegra (that’s a beautiful name by the way… she will hug you for it when she becomes old enough to care πŸ™‚ ) a hug from us all out here in the blogosphere and I hope that she has a wonderful wiggly day with lots of lovely things that make her happy and tired πŸ™‚ Intolerant to phytic acid? I am just plain “intolerant”…I find it best to be up front about it πŸ˜‰ (some might call me “intolerable” but hey… whatchagonnadoeh? πŸ˜‰ )

  2. I can’t eat unsoured or unsprouted wheat products without a pain in the pinny. Since sourdough is made with wheat if I was actually gluten or wheat intolerant I would not be able to eat it but as I can eat it once it’s soured I suspect I’m intolerant of phytic acid. “Phytic acid is the principal storage form of phosphorus in many plant tissues, especially the bran portion of grains and other seeds… Phytic acid not only grabs on to or chelates important minerals, but also inhibits enzymes that we need to digest our food…” Taken from http://www.westonaprice.org/food-features/living-with-phytic-acid but it goes into a lot more details on what it does and how it affects the body. Fermenting, souring or soaking in warm acid (water and vinegar) will help reduce the phytic acid too. Fun.

    And my husband would probably chalk “intolerable” up against my name too.

    As for her name, she lives up to it. She is a happy and lively little thing with a rather wide naughty streak at the moment. She is as cute as pie when in trouble though as she pouts most beautifully. Her Nanna asked her not to do something (very gently and nicely I might add) on the weekend and her resulting pout nearly broke her Nanna’s heart. I’m only slightly more immune to it. And she won’t go to sleep without at least a thousand kisses. Too cute. I shall definitely pass on some big blogging cuddles (do I just put x’s and o’s around her name πŸ˜‰ ) We will be spending the day out together as a family for her birthday.

  3. Very excited for you! We’ll get to read more about what you’re doing at the house and less about your commute soon! πŸ˜€

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

