Can’t wait

It’s days like this that I really can’t wait until we’ve moved. The kids are going stir crazy today and driving me nuts! I can’t wait until we move and I know they will play happily outside on the swings, trampoline and in the cubby house as opposed to now when they let out the Dorking chicks, play with the tap and get wet (it’s too cold for that today) and generally get into everything we’ve made clear they are not to touch.Β One we’ve moved I know it won’t cure these sort of days but I do know that there is the necessary space for them to burn off their canned up energy and in the nice clean and healthy air of the country.

In other news, I pick up our Muscovy ducks tomorrow and our new Dorking chicks on Friday. This time we will be taking day old (or a few days old) chicks and building a brooder box for them, raising them inside until 6 weeks old before sending them out to join the troops. Now I just need to find a place for the brooder that keeps them away from the cats. 😦 I don’t take on too much at once do I? 😎

Now, time to get back to packing.

4 thoughts on “Can’t wait

  1. Must be the day for it. Sienna has been driving me nuts all day. Probably has something to do with the fact that it is just far too hot to go outside so she has been stuck inside in the air con all day. Waiting for the temp to drop a bit more so we can go outside for a play.

  2. Mama Veg says:

    Mine are driving me crazy too and not sleeping! Good luck with the packing. πŸ™‚

  3. narf77 says:

    As my gran would say “in for a penny…in for a pound!” may as well get it all over with at the same time and move everyone/everything in together ;). That move must be getting seriously close now. The kids won’t know what to do with themselves with all that extra space. No doubt you will all end up going to bed early and knackered for the first week as they explore their new home and their parameters. I am off to visit my 2 adult daughters (22 and 24) this weekend and we will be doing the things that you do with your progeny when you have to transition from being able to share the world with them from the confines of your own experience to seeing it play out through their own endevours. My 2 are sci-fi, manga geeky girls and I love their intelligence and wit but sometimes it’s hard to get into their conversations because they are so far over my head! I guess its town mouse, city mice? ;). Wish me luck…apparently they have some sort of bet on as to whether or not I will be able to guess something…very clandestine and a bit worrying! πŸ˜‰ The winner gets a bottle of port…looks like I am going to have to think hard…I like port πŸ™‚

    • Oooo does sound all clandestine. My first thought reading it was “pregnant?” followed by “engaged?” just in case either thought is relevant. πŸ˜‰
      As for “in for a penny, in for a pound” haven’t you realised that we use dollars and cents these days or is it Steve’s influence rubbing off on you? πŸ˜‰ You’re right though, may as well go hardcore and get stuck in I reckon too. It will definitely make for fun times though. πŸ™‚

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

