A trip to the city

As I sit here on the train heading to Ballan I can barely keep the smile off my face. I’m heading home! I’m just amazed at how quickly Ballan has become home really but home it is.

I had to come into the city today for a funeral. Martin wanted to pick up some more of our belongings so we drove to Spotswood, loaded the trailer then he dropped me at Footscray station before heading home whilst I caught the train out to the church. Afterwards I grabbed dinner with my Mum, something I haven’t done in I don’t know how long. :)It was nice to have a chat and a meal I didn’t have to prepare or clean up after. 😀 Stupidly I didn’t look up the train timetables so by the time I got into Southern Cross I had just missed a train and had nearly an hour to wait for the next one. I bought my ticket then went for a little wander around. And boy oh boy did I feel out of place. 😦 A friend said to me last week after a trip in to town that she couldn’t wait to get home to Ballan and I completely echo that. I used to love the city. It’s fast, exciting and full of experiences and adventures. Now it just seems too fast, full of people on a mission that I just seemed to get in the way of (sorry people) and smelly! I can’t wait to get home and smell the grass, trees and wood smoke from Ignisa (we named our wood fire Ignisa Fran – do you like?). I felt like the complete country bumpkin for which I used to ridicule my mother (sorry Mum).

So now I sit here on the train, watching the sun sinking behind buildings and clouds, listening to the hum of the engine and conversations around me and dreaming of a quieter tomorrow.

20121217-203822.jpg

20121217-203842.jpg

And a lovely polite ticket conductor too. 🙂

8 thoughts on “A trip to the city

  1. Every time you talk ab out the country it makes me jealous. It makes me want to move out of the city more and more. Hopefully one day in the near future I will be able to call the country home too.

    • It took me several months to talk Martin into it and then several more to decide where so keep working on Mr Tropical Hippy and your time will come. I am dying to come up and see where you call home sometime too, be it country or city. The tropics still seem so exotic to me – like Phuket or Bali! 😉

  2. narf77 says:

    We had the very same conversion although Melbourne and Launceston are 2 completely different kettles of fish! My dad would drop in on us in our home 4km from the city centre and would be itching to go home from the minute he walked in the door. It always annoyed me but now I know why! I thought it was an excuse “gotta let the dog out…” but it was a quick exit from the city, not our presence that had him twitching. I find myself exhibiting extreme road rage from the passenger seat now that I no longer have to drive in the city. I think that you develop blinkers to the stupidity of other drivers when you have to navigate city streets every day. I miss walking Bezial on our early morning city walks and I miss the ability to buy what I want when I want BUT that’s it! Nothing else about the city calls me back into it’s folds and I have found my soul on Serendipity Farm. Ignisa… a fitting sister for Brunhilda who is just about to get a summer coating of that nasty stuff that makes her toxic for her first burn of the autumn (ech). I can see you baking loaves of substance and your children’s memories in Ignisa 🙂

  3. Emma says:

    I feel the same way! Oh and I too have experienced the one hour wait after missing a train…but its worth it once you get home to the chickens and your veges and your SPACE

    • The hour to kill wasn’t the problem really. It was more the hour to kill in the city. I ended up getting on board the train over 30 mins earlier and just sitting and reading MX (full of articles about stuff in which I have absolutely no interest or knowledge). Sadly, our train was delayed less than 10 minutes out of Ballan due to a defective signal and a freight train that had to come through. Hence, the walk home was in total darkness. 😦 Not the best of fun but coming home to a toasty warm house because Martin had lit Ignisa was lovely. 🙂

  4. greeningofgavin says:

    Hey Jessie, I feel like that every day I go to work in the city. Even though I don’t live in a country town, I live far enough out to dislike the hustle and bustle of city life. And I agree about the MX newspaper. Pure tabloid crap. I wouldn’t use it to line the chooks nesting boxes with.

    Gav xox

    • Oh, I don’t know about that. Using it to clean out chicken crap might add something to the reading. 😉 I brought home 2 copies to line the bottom of my greenhouse with before paving stones go down. That way it might at least do some good – keeping out the weeds!

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

