Fairy Park and some updates

Well, we finally made it. We finally made it to Fairy Park. It wasn’t through lack of trying that we didn’t get there earlier either. The fates simply conspired against us. Allegra’s actual birthday, the 11th, ended up being a pretty heavy moving in kind of day and we just didn’t make it there. She had a small party in the garden but we had made plans. Wednesday was eaten into by an afternoon work function for Martin and Thursday was the plan as his next work function wasn’t until the evening… Or so we thought. Again it was an afternoon do so again we postponed. Several days in there the weather wasn’t playing ball and finally the weather was good and nothing was planned so we booked in Wednesday – yesterday. Yet again we had to postpone as I woke with a screaming migraine and had the dubious pleasure of spending a day in bed. Not exactly the dream sleep in I dream about. 😦 This morning however dawned with cloudy skies but a very promising forecast of pleasant temperatures and no rain, nothing but the last lingering memory of the sore head and no plans! PERFECT! We finally got out and away a little after 10 and had a lovely morning and early afternoon at Fairy Park in Anakie.

Before we left I baked the 2 loaves of bread I’d put to rise last night and boiled my 2 sourdough Christmas puddings too. The house still smells wonderful tonight. I cannot wait to try some pudding on Sunday at our family Christmas party. Nom nom nom. 🙂

Fairy Park is not like the theme parks of the Gold Coast or even like Luna Park in Melbourne as in there are no rides, the penny arcade is just that – some kids plop-in-a-coin-and-ride toys like outside supermarkets and any transport around the park is done by shanks pony but its wonderful simplicity added to the delight and wonder for me. It depicts cleverly wrought scenes from fairy tales – Snow White in the house with the 7 dwarves and also awakening from her death-like slumber, the magical cave of Alibaba, the wolf being admitted to the house of the 7 little goat kids, Rapunzel having her hair climbed and many many more. Press the button and the story comes to life with characters that move and a reading of part or all of the story. In describing it to my mum I told her it was much like I remember the Myer windows at Christmastime to have been but fairy stories instead of a Christmas story.

Sadly we had a small mishap to mar the wonderful day. Jasper, whilst running, tripped over his feet or a stone or something and decided to get up close and personal with the paving stones. Fortunately he landed on his sunglasses which bore the brunt of the grazing although the tip of his nose did get a wee scratch. Unfortunately, the sunglasses jammed into his eyebrow and he’s got the makings of a brilliant shiner. Just in time for Christmas photos! Yay. 😦 He screamed a bit (someone probably thought there was a murder taking place) but gathered himself together well and enjoyed the rest of the day.

We grabbed some pies and chips in Anakie then headed home to several lots of great news. They have located the gas main in our street (mains gas instead of bottles) and our builder has completely finished tiling! All grouted, cleaned up and done. YAY! 😀 We can move up our fridge and couches now. Oh to be able to flop on the couch at the end of a long day. 🙂 Speaking of a long day, my wonderful husband has nearly finished clearing up the huge pile of debris removed from the house – the old floorboards, broken tiles, rubbish, other junk left lying around and other bits and pieces. It’s a huge and smelly job but he’s put in a few hard hours and cleared almost all of the big stuff into the skip which is just wonderful. It will be so nice to not smell the junk pile on hot days. 🙂

Our only bad news from the day is that we have a sick baby chicken. He’s currently in isolation and hopefully he pulls through. 😦

Anyway, I’m off to bed. But before I go, here are some pictures from today.

I think Jas finally had enough of spinning at the stage.

I think Jas finally had enough of spinning at the stage.

And the wonderful self propelled merry-go-round. Simple rides and the kids loved them.

And the wonderful self propelled merry-go-round. Simple rides and the kids loved them.

Remember those yellow and orange spinny things that you would sit in, turn the wheel and whizz around and around until you made yourself sick? We all hopped in and the kids loved it but Martin and I had to bail before our breakfast bailed on us. :(

Remember those yellow and orange spinny things that you would sit in, turn the wheel and whizz around and around until you made yourself sick? We all hopped in and the kids loved it but Martin and I had to bail before our breakfast bailed on us. 😦

Sir Jasper

Sir Jasper

Queen Allegra

Queen Allegra

Alice at the Mad Hatters tea party.

Alice at the Mad Hatters tea party.

These have to be the cutest 3 little pigs I have ever seen!

These have to be the cutest 3 little pigs I have ever seen!

Too young to appreciate it all but not too young to appreciate a good nap.

Too young to appreciate it all but not too young to appreciate a good nap.

Allegra riding on Puff.

Allegra riding on Puff.

The view! It's worth visiting for the view alone!

The view! It’s worth visiting for the view alone!

The Town Musicians

The Town Musicians

They were riveted to the story of the 7 little goats.

They were riveted to the story of the 7 little goats.

Some of the 7 kids from my favourite fairy story.

Some of the 7 kids from my favourite fairy story.

Little Red Riding Hood

Little Red Riding Hood

Visiting Grandma and Little Red Riding Hood

Visiting Grandma and Little Red Riding Hood

The castle from about half way up. It's all built up the side of the hill.

The castle from about half way up. It’s all built up the side of the hill.

Pinocchio and the good fairy

Pinocchio and the good fairy

The beginnings of a brilliant shiner. My poor bubba. :(

The beginnings of a brilliant shiner. My poor bubba. 😦

The scratched sunglasses that saved my big boys face.

The scratched sunglasses that saved my big boys face.

Goldilocks and the 3 bears

Goldilocks and the 3 bears

Peeping in the window

Peeping in the window

I also think I have finished unpacking the kids clothes into their wardrobes so I am feeling even closer to being properly moved in. And discovering that my pumpkins are flowering was a great way to finish off the day. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fairy Park and some updates

  1. narf77 says:

    I am typing this one handed as I wait on the phone for a customer service officer from Centrelink to get to answering the phone…I suddenly realised that I can look at this latest monumental stffup in 2 ways…1. the way we usually do with major stress or 2. by being incredibly grateful for living in a country where we are able to be supported while we don’t have jobs…I choose the latter today and will be giving my poor long suffering customer service officer a beaming smile and a happy demeanour over the phone :). It could have been a “Jasper moment” but I think it can be salvaged 😉 Its all how you choose to look at it :). The very sad thing is that even though I am typing with one hand I am STILL faster than I used to be with 2 hands 😉

  2. Everything is abut how you look at it isn’t it? I read a piece once that made me stop and think. It talked about being grateful for bills because it means we have electricity and running water. Being grateful for housework because it means we on things that need cleaning and are fortunate enough to have a roof over our heads. Being grateful for the alarm going off at the crack of dawn because it means we have a job to go to. I can add to it that I am grateful for the early morning wake up from my children or their bickering because it means I have been blessed to be given 3 healthy children.
    Centrelink are a pain in the backside and trying to call them is a nightmare of epic proportions BUT as you say, we are blessed to live in a country where our government looks after the students, the unemployed, the disabled and helps out with those who aren’t earning a large wage.It is much more than many countries do. 🙂
    We truly are blessed (despite the problems we can all easily find in our country and its government).

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

