A potential harvest after all AKA not such a bad run of luck after all.

Watering the garden tonight I came across some wonderful surprises! Looks like I might just get something to harvest after all!

I spotted these whilst I was watering a neighbouring tomato plant. Red Tommy Toes looking a little less than red at the moment.

I spotted these whilst I was watering a neighbouring tomato plant. Red Tommy Toes looking a little less than red at the moment.

And more Tommy Toes!

And more Tommy Toes!

And even more Tommy Toes. Yellow this time I think.

And even more Tommy Toes. Yellow this time I think.

And yet more Tommy Toes. Most of the buses are red but there are a few yellow ones in too. So exciting!

And yet more Tommy Toes. Most of the buses are red but there are a few yellow ones in too. So exciting!

My first zucchini. It's currently less than 3 inches long.

My first zucchini. It’s currently less than 3 inches long. (And yes, in this case, size does matter, at least a little bit. πŸ˜‰ )

A female pumpkin flower ready to open. Mr Bee, oh Mr Bee! Come and pollinate my pumpkin please! There are 2 male flowers an inch before it on the stem ready to open too so I might be out there with a brush I think. Isn't that just a little weird when you think about it? ;)

A female pumpkin flower ready to open. Mr Bee, oh Mr Bee! Come and pollinate my pumpkin please! There are 2 male flowers an inch before it on the stem ready to open too so I might be out there with a brush I think. Isn’t that just a little weird when you think about it? πŸ˜‰

I’m feeling a LOT better after finding all this potential harvest hiding out in my garden. I was feeling pretty flat about it all and trying hard to be philosophical but now I feel much happier. AND to boot, as I type this I just found a photo of Jasper and I in the local rag! It was taken at the Farmers Market not long after we’d finished playing our music and we were just buying some organic white nectarines.

The Moorabool News page 15. Not a great picture of me by any tick of the clock but my little boy is looking ultra cute in the bottom corner. :D

The Moorabool News page 15. Not a great picture of me by any tick of the clock but my little boy is looking ultra cute in the bottom corner. πŸ˜€

Oh I do feel more positive now. Looking forward to tomorrow again. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “A potential harvest after all AKA not such a bad run of luck after all.

  1. Jenny says:

    Oh yay!! That is always so exciting. You’re home free as far as the tomatoes are concerned. Even if they don’t ripen (which they will) you can eat them green. We usually fry them but they can be pickled too ~ something I’ve never actually tried. Congratulations! πŸ™‚

    • Fried Green Tomatoes! I ave always wanted to try them after watching that film! Thank you for the brilliant idea! I’m feeling very overprotective of my baby marties actually and planning on buying some bird netting today. Woe be to the bird or beast that touches those marties before they’re ripe!

  2. narf77 says:

    Use a cotton bud to pollinate those pumpkin flowers :). I am excited as heck about your tomato futures! I don’t even think we can get in to see our tomatoes let alone harvest them any more they are that heavily fortified. I am rapidly turning into my father…”cover up that little mulberry tree with netting so the birds don’t eat the fruit” and then never venturing down to harvest it so the poor birds just watched it drop from the trees uneaten :(. Gardens have a way of making you feel like crap and then picking you up again (when you are suitably deflated and chastened) and saying “look what we did all by ourselves!”. I think it is a reminder from the power that be to remember that nature keeps on keeping on like the everready bunny with or without us. We just have to guide it in the direction that we want it to go. Think of yourself as a garden engineer driving the flow of vegetables and that is more like what happens. I am getting the bug for veggie gardening. I am feeling the love with compost. I am planting out spuds that have gone to seed all over the place. That compost, by the way, the golden glowing compost, is just compost that a council up north makes from all of its green waste. It is called “organic” but I am not too sure how organic it really is. It’s amazingly dark, unctuously rich and grows everything BUT it compacts down and you have trouble growing root crops (not that I have tried but my friend in the witness protection tried carrots that ended up yellow and weird πŸ˜‰ ).
    Finally we see Rabid! You are as evasive about being photographed as I am ;). I actually got Steve to take a photo of me in his Heinekin straw hat (that he looks SO cute in but that makes me look like a crazy old gypsy woman…) that has a button on the front that says “Bollocks!”…a good bolshie hat for gardening in. “Don’t you tell ME that I can’t go out in the sun after 10am! I have my bolshie bollocks hat to tell me that I can!”… I am in love with the processes of gardening perhaps more than the results. I love that we can grow our own food and am really enjoying the results BUT the processes are addictive. Making the compost, buying fruit and using the stones to start new fruit trees (Jackie French our organic doyen of all things sustainable and organic’s book “The Wilderness Garden” shares that fruit grown from seed is often the hardiest and most prolific) including 5 mangoes that we are trying to grow. I put 4 of the seeds directly into the part of the compost that is going to heat up like the sun. They will start to ferment and hopefully the compost heap will replicate the hot HOT Queensland sun and the little buggers will think that they have died and gone to Queensland North heaven. We kept one back and have stuck it in a pot of that black gold compost to see how it goes. I don’t care if they don’t grow, if they don’t they will just end up part of the compost for the garden…everything has a use! I am shredding all my old paper in the little hand shredder that Steve bought me, I am seeing “value” in all sorts of things that other people just throw out…I am turning into a veritable crazy old hippy woman and I LOVE IT! Permaculture, gardening, sustainability, learning how to do things ourselves, it is completely within the reach of everyone. You don’t need money to do it, it is completely achievable with bugger all. I have found so many ways to achieve what you want with nothing aside from passion and determination and it has given me a completely new lease on life. I turn 50 this year and could care less. I know what my lifes work is meant to be and this property is going to be absolutely a testiment to what the possibilities of two most determined horticulturalists can do with bugger all and a wing and a prayer :).

    • Your friend may need to till her compost more and maybe add in some sand. Carrots HATE heavy soil and at the slightest pebble they turn sideways and split. Also, they’re not fans of rich soil so tell her to mix in some plain old dirt (more dirt than compost by a long shot). Too much organic niceness and they grow all leafy but not good roots. Well, that’s what I’ve read at least. πŸ™‚
      Yeah, I dodge photos whenever possible. More to the point I’m usually on the other side of the camera so there are very few photos of me in this house due to that. I was wearing my vintage inspired hair that day but generally looking a bit all over the place but hey, it was a brilliant way to finish off a less than wonderful day.
      I ave a huge box full of all the pages from the yellow pages I tore up to pack my fragiles in which I intend to sit and hand shred for my compost. It’s in dire need of it too as it’s a bit too rich in green compost and needs some brown.And yes, with careful thought you CAN do most of it for nothing. Good friends help (swapsies) and a horticulture course doesn’t go astray either. πŸ˜‰ I’m tossing up the idea of doing a permy course. I understand the concept but not much besides. I’m suc a green thumb baby BUT I do ave a dream and that gives me the determination. πŸ™‚

  3. narf77 says:

    By the way…watch that zucchini…it will be 10ft long in 3 days! πŸ˜‰

    • I KNOW! Brilliance itself hey. πŸ˜€ Part of me wants to grow it mega long so I get a big harvest but the logical part says harvest it and eat it whilst it’s tender and tasty. πŸ™‚

      • narf77 says:

        What about go halfway and get something that is substantial but still tender and tasty ;). I bought punnets this year and got a mixed punnet so I have 3 different kinds of zukes including bright yellow, traditional green and some really awesome speckled things that are apparently those Lebanese ones that are intended to be stuffed and eaten. I am loving being able to harvest most of what I eat from the garden. I think that when you are a vegetarian/vegan it makes growing your own food that much more fundamental. Not only do you know where it is coming from, but you get the chance to stock your garden with what you and your family actually love. When I went to my friend in the witness protections place the other day she had planted all sorts of things that they didn’t even like! I asked her why and she said “I thought I should give them a bash…” I won’t be growing anything that Steve and I don’t actually like! What a waste of space?! I am now thinking about winter stuff and will probably have to buy leeks and Brussells sprouts in punnets (sigh… still learning this timing thing!) but everything else I am going to grow from seed. I went to Wychwood yesterday and am in love. I wanted to move there and live in the bottom of the garden with the chooks like the proverbial garden gnome and would work there for some of Karens delicious food…Peter and Karen were amazing people and totally approachable…I think I have a girly crush on Karen and Peter just scared me with his knowledge! It turns out we have something on our property that he had to outsource 20 years ago but the elderly lady that planted it must have done so about 40 years ago so he was busting to know how she found it! Even went as far as asking “is she lucid? Could you ask her?!”…the man is driven! ;). Had a ball and you can see some of the photos on Saturday…only thing was I raced off in the car after dropping Steve at the top of the hill to walk the dogs and we both totally forgot that we had locked the back door…come 6pm when I got home it would have been very VERY bad if my man didnt come from Liverpool and know a little bit about finding his way into a house without a key…Steve was VERY lucky to work out a way to access another key πŸ˜‰

        • I reckon I shall grow a 1/2 way ‘kini. And after the way we all inhaled the ratatouille I made the other day I hope the plant is prolific!
          Check out Gardenate.com.au and plug in your details. They’re great for knowing what to plant and when and with what too. I put in leek seeds the other day as I think they’re an Autumn crop so I reckon if you buy seeds now you should be fine. πŸ™‚ The app/website is great but it does need to be fine tuned to your micro-climate. We have to plant out a little later than they advise due to late frosts in our little hollow. 😦
          When you come to visit I shall take you to see the Garden of St Erth, one of the Diggers Club gardens. It’s only a short 15 minute drive to gardening mecca from here. πŸ˜‰
          As for Steve gaining entry, that’s the sort of thing I rib my Londoner hubby about. πŸ˜‰ They bag us out for being descended from the convicts but conveniently forget where those convicts first came from. πŸ˜‰ I love their versatility though.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

