Makes you stop and think seriously… Or if it doesn’t, it should.

I don’t like using the word “should” as it’s me telling you what I think your mind needs to believe. It’s imposing ones thoughts and beliefs upon another. You should eat more/less. You should get more sleep. I mean, who am I to judge what you should or shouldn’t do? But in this case I feel strongly enough to tell you that I think you should read this post. It should make you stop and think. It should make you take check of your lifestyle and how you use fossil fuels. That’s a strong place to be and between you and me it makes me nervous to be dictating my beliefs. But unless we share what we believe strongly about we are not going to get the message we wish to share, across to anyone. Be it your religious beliefs or other lifestyle choices – vegetarianism, veganism, walking not driving, Commodore vs Ford (that’s for my brother the pro Ford king) or any other stand or stance you take on anything at all – we all have things we believe strongly in, passions we live, eat and breathe or values we would die for. Well, this is something I believe strongly enough in to tell you I believe you should read this. It’s facts, not a diatribe. It’s information, not a sermon. It’s data that allows you to come to your own conclusions. And if it’s enough to make me feel deeply sorry for a snake, me the ophidiophobe, then hey, it’s powerful stuff.

PLEASE read this. πŸ™‚

Warmest decade on record brings record temperatures and weather extremes.Β It made me think of the film Day after Tomorrow as there are many any similarities in what happened in the film and what happened in real life. Ok, not to the extremes of Hollywood but the jet stream activity sounds very familiar to fans of the film.

Again I ask, please read it.

12 thoughts on “Makes you stop and think seriously… Or if it doesn’t, it should.

  1. narf77 says:

    What I find particularly poignant is that the amount of scientists “Pooh-poohing” global warming are now in the significant minority. The nay sayers are very quiet in their corner as drought hits just about every country in the world closely followed by periods of devastating rainfall, flooding, crazy blizards, heat off the charts and general weather craziness all round. We can start to panic about this or we can be resolute to work as hard as we can, each individual, for indeed, that’s where the true power of this lies, to change our lifestyles to live simply and minimise our use of fossil fuels. Plant trees… grow a veggie garden, don’t let the negativity of these results make you fall in a heap of resignation. We need to do what we can RIGHT NOW to minimise the damage that 100 years of industrialised humanity has done to this planet and we need to stop sticking our heads in the sand about it. Its here…its now and its part of our immediate future and we ALL need to take responsibility for our own actions now. No more political bampf in order to appease big business and to salve another 4 years of power out of the great unwashed…actions speak MUCH louder than words folks…vote with your conciences, act like you mean it and believe that you CAN make a difference.

    • You are absolutely right! It is scary and it is daunting and so it should be but if I’ve learned one thing about people around the world it is that we can move mountains when we’ve a mind to and we can band together in times of trouble. When the Black Saturday bushfires devastated much of Victoria there was an incredible outpouring of generosity from people in the form of cash donations, used clothes and furniture and time and effort. The exact same thing happened with the devastating floods that swept away much of Brisbane and the Lockyear (sp.) Valley only last year. Cyclone Tracey called out in devastation and the people came and rebuilt. It happens each and every time there is a disaster. Human kind have a resilience and a heart that seems to shine in bad times like it never does at any other time.
      This will be a challenge that modern mankind has never had to face. Changes on a global scale where many of the poor will have gifts and knowledge that the wealthy do not – a hands on knowledge of how to turn dirt into food, how to make do without and how to make it yourself if you can’t afford it. I think that the peoples around the world will struggle and then thrive as we have never done before. We WILL find new and environmentally friendly ways to have our cake and eat it too. We have the smarts to do it and we DO have the skills and technology to create what we need. It just seems the desperate drive to make it because of need is just not ye there.

      • narf77 says:

        And at the moment it’s only “Greenwash” to make profit. Most truely sustainable shares are underground because the profit mongers want their cut first before the rest of us can get in on the act. Can you tell I have a problem with the middle man? ;). That’s exactly why I am learning…why I have spent the better part of half of my life learning all about how to do “things” for ourselves…cramming my brain, many hard drives and pages and pages of handwritten recipes, hints, tips and tutorials for how to do basic things for ourselves. We need to become resilient AND learn how to do as much as we can ourselves. Did you know that you can make flour for baking from acorns? I didn’t but I found out! Glad next door has 7 enormous oaks and if ever we are unable to get wheat (or other grains) here in Tasmania, I want to at least have a source of something that I can bake with…same goes for nuts and chestnuts (that we are in the process of planting). Learning to use sourdough rather than rely on bought yeast, growing seeds into food sources rather than buying sterile punnets of seedlings or buying from supermarkets…learning to make do, make our own and just “make the effort” to learn, to grow and to change our ethos as needs be to accomodate what we are learning. What a challenge we have ahead of us but what an exciting chance to grow! :). I am glad that there is a groundswell of homesteading, sustainable and do-it-yourself blogs. Not so sure about those crazy doomsday prepper people…the crazies hell bent on “shootin the neighbours” if they come asking for a cup of sugar ;). I would rather go down sharing than hide in a bolt hole and know that people were starving to death all round me :(…I couldn’t live with myself if I did. Fear is a terrible thing. It tends to galvanise people before they think and the results can be as disastrous as the initial problem! I prefer taking a deep breath and thinking about it…even if it IS on the run! ;). Glad we share a common ethos πŸ™‚

        • Fear is a terrible thing. It brings out either the best or the worst in people. I am frightened about what will happen but trying to prepare to deal with the negative possibilities which means having enough to share rather than just enough for my family. I keep remembering a scene from Dark Angel, a James Cameron TV series starring Jessica Alba and Michael Weatherley which I loved. It’s set in a post apocalyptic world where an elecromagnetic pulse wiped all the zero’s and one’s of binary code into a whole bunch of zero’s and hence the world as we know it was no more. In this once scene where they are visiting a town out of Seattle where its set they come across a tragedy that occurred just after the Pulse. A family had moved in to the area before the Pulse struck and were self sufficient with a generator etc. Afterwards when people were afraid and hungry they turned nasty and killed the family. I know that not everyone is like that but I have never been able to get rid of that scene from my mind. The only way I can figure around it is to seed save enough to share with many, bottle and preserve excess and be willing and ready to share. Oh, and pray of course. πŸ™‚

          And yes, read, learn, hoard knowledge and do everything you can to damn the man and do it yourself. That’s the primary reason I started making sourdough. Because I would no longer need to buy yeast. What a journey that has been and how far I have come since then (and how much farther do I need to go yet?)

          • narf77 says:

            I think we need to engage with community more Jessie. I think that there is a LOT of scaremongering about just what will happen when peak oil starts to increase the prices of everything exponentially but I also know that there is a lot of technology being hoarded by big business until they absolutely, positively HAVE to engage with it because its costly and the set up costs of this infrastructure will be hard to bear and will have to be passed on to a more desperate populace. I don’t think that the situation that you talked about would happen. I think that the doomsday preppers spread fear and make people close up the ranks to other possibilities. What about the Amish? They have been living for years without the aid of everything that we hold near and dear and we really REALLY need to remember that this influx of technology etc. is only a maximum of 100 years old. We didn’t have ANY of this stuff prior to 1900! Humanity did alright before technology and it will do alright again, it will involve a learning curve and when forced to learn, people have no other choice. I choose to see it as a chance to re-engage with communities and to re-learn important survival skills and learning to deal with everyone in our community and finding out who has which skills. I fully intend on being someone who knows a LOT. I want to be the femal Dr Karl of Tasmania! ;). I see it as a real opportunity to sift away the dross of what is and isn’t important in life and I have never EVER been happier in all of my life because I finally have a purpose that feels completely and utterly “right” :). I no longer lust after things I can’t have or money that will give me everything that my heart desires because I know its all bollocks perpetrated by “the man” to get us to spend our lives in perpetual slavetude to the desire to obtain “stuff”. Stuff doesn’t bring happiness. My brother inherited 2 houses and lots of “stuff” from my dad when he died back in 2010. He sold the houses and the stuff and ended up with just under half a million dollars in a bank account. It’s just under 2 years later and he has almost squandered the lot…he has lots of “stuff”, is unhappy and has no direction in his life…money most certainly didn’t bring him happiness. We penniless student hippies have had to bypass the “stuff” through simple necessity. We just can’t afford it! Over the period of the last 2 years we have learned so much through necessity…we have learned work ethic, the value of “early to bed…early to rise”, I have lost a lot of weight and gained a lot of respect for people who work hard for their lot and life has taken on a completely new meaning and has been given an incredible worth that it never had before. Dirt on your hands is more precious than gold and the ability to take that dirt and feed your family is something that we ALL need to learn. I love your enthusiasm Jess…it almost matches my own! ;). (Poor Martin…poor Steve!!!! πŸ˜‰ )

            • My life too has been enriched by the changes we’ve made. When my grandmother passed away I was blessed to inherit an amount of money. In the scale of things it wasn’t very much but I was able to make it last and I am finally down to the last few hundred dollars. It’s been partly spent on stuff but I have tried to make sure the stuff has had a purpose other than just being stuff if you know what I mean. My Thermy came from that money as have many of my preserving jars, my canner and my greenhouse. It’s stuff yes, but stuff that has a purpose and a reason and will improve the quality of our lives for many years to come. It’s all long term stuff, not short term. I know others who inherited who’ve bought cars and holidays and 3D TV’s and as much as I respect that it’s their money and theirs to spend, it is just STUFF! Although the holidays would have been nice I tell you. πŸ˜‰ I like to think that every time I can or walk into the greenhouse I am making use of the last gift my grandmother ever gave me. They are also things that have made and continue to make me very happy. πŸ™‚ I love bottling. I love the pride in looking in my pantry to see rows and rows of glorious food that will last for years if need be. I canned some chicken stock the other day, first time ever and it was scary but incredibly satisfying all the same. And our greenhouse provided its first harvest last night too! Hermy the Thermy doesn’t ever get a break he is used so much. He is an incredible tool that makes my life phenomenally easier.

              I know that scene I shared is pretty negative and pretty scary and also probably unlikely to happen but in my less positive moments it does play on my mind. I try not to let it. I also fear that we will not be set up as I would like (water tanks and hopefully some sort of solar power system) when things do go seriously pear shaped which also frightens me BUT, and it’s the BUT that I hold on to and focus on… We will be in a position much more able to survive than most and in a position to be able to help too I hope. We WILL survive and probably thrive too.

              All in all I think the coming crisis is going to be the best thing to happen to mankind once the dust all settles. We will be able to move forward into a more ethical and environmental future. It will be a few years of super hard slog and uncertain times BUT we will get there and we will survive. πŸ™‚

              • narf77 says:

                We got a small inheritance from dad as well and I spent $13500 on Brunhilda (total with installation and the big stainless steel hot water storage unit) and even though she heats the house, cooks for 8 months of the year and heats our water (as well as being the dogs constant companion and chief kitchen lure) I still felt guilty about spending so much money on a “stove”. Sometimes “stuff” is important and getting the best quality “stuff” that is going to last a long time is what is more important. I totally agree with you about spending wisely and am not averse to buying things when they are going to pay for themselves in the long run. I, too, want a big water tank, solar panels etc. but you have to work at the pace that life comes to you and find solutions elsewhere sometimes till you can get what you want. Hard slog is beautiful. It puts everything into perspective and if nothing else, you sleep better at night :). I am enjoying learning all about it after a life hell bent on avoiding extra effort at all costs. I was also bypassing the processes that give you the satisfaction…bollocks to that! I want in at the deep end thank you! :). Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

                • There really is nothing like earning something the hard way. The blood, sweat and tears that you put in hurts more than any expenditure of the wallet but the rewards of being able to say “I did/built/created/made/cooked/sewed/etc this” and the pride in a job well built is far more satisfying that saying, “oh yeah, it’s cool. I bought it from XXX”.
                  Wow, Brunhilda was a pricey lady but as you say, 8 months of the year and hot water jacket… Worth it well and truly. Ignisa isn’t a full oven/stove, she’s a wood heater with a wet jacket and just happens to have a small but functional oven AND a cook top. She doesn’t live in the kitchen but she is near enough and we plan on using her to cook whenever possible too. Just 1 more way to damn the man! πŸ˜‰
                  I wish I could get stuck in a really get building on the things I want to try my hand at – rocket stove, cobb house (Ooo I would jump through hoops to go to the natural building course at Milkwood) but with small helpers known as Mr and Miss Touch-Everything, it’s nigh on impossible (just ask Martin as he tries to dismantle our old stairs πŸ˜‰ ) but the time comes in small segments and we manage. We’ve built a chook pen, veggie beds, greenhouse and numerous other smaller projects as well as moving house in the 4 or so months since we won this house at auction. I really can’t complain. Well sitting and typing won’t build my garden beds… And nor will I with Orik now awake. *sigh*
                  P.S. Up before 7 and loved it. πŸ˜€

                  • narf77 says:

                    I was up at 3.40 today! I don’t even have to get up early and my stupid brain won’t go back to sleep (neither will my bladder…mutter…) so I just got up and got stuck into the day :). I want to build a rocket stove and there is a perfect stainless steel boiler out on that heap of steel. I bet Martin would LOVE to fossic around in there…lots of stainless tubing etc. I am considering messing about with earthbags and making an interesting round house like they did at Milkwood for their cook, only for visitors and with a few spare acres I can afford to mess about with building a few outbuildings and planting a few enormous trees (not in MY lifetime! πŸ˜‰ ). Have a wonderful day albeit with a small child welded to your boot :). Bet I beat you to bed tonight! πŸ˜‰

  2. Yes I should read it and will.

    And everyone should GO VEGAN. πŸ™‚

  3. Epic comments guys! It’s all very scary, makes you want to do even more, but I wear myself out as it is. Maybe if we knock some people’s heads together, they might see some sense and help us out instead of doing what is easiest for them.

    • Ooo I’ll join you in the head knocking!
      I often flop into a chair in the evening (with my knitting as I feel guilty just sitting these days) and I’m exhausted. This week has been a lazy week as I’ve had no motivation or energy left and I sit and wonder how my Nanna coped. And my Papa’s mum (she did the washing with copper and wrangle, wood stove baking and 11 children on a farm in the middle of nowhere) and I wonder if we’re just a soft generation r if our expectations are still very high. It’s so hard to tell as we only have the stories passed down and we all edit stories (t varying degrees) to leave out the TMI or embarrassing or tedium and so the accuracy of those stories may not be there. Missusmoonshine, I think you do an amazing job with your sewing and your gardens and 2 young children too. πŸ™‚ We can only do our part hey.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

