My missing mojo

My mojo went missing. It took a holiday yesterday, sauntering in around bedtime, smirking and incredibly proud of itself. I, on the other hand, was and remain, less than impressed. I had big plans for yesterday. I was going to divide (into 6 piles) then conquer and fold all my washing then get it put away. I was going to finish clearing my kitchen entirely, down to a spotless bench, knit some socks and several other things. Instead, I did nothing. And I mean NOTHING!

Well, I brought in the washing and picked some hawthorn berries (more to come on those) but seriously, given the huge pile of clean washing, the dishes in the kitchen and the state of the floors, it wasn’t even close to sufficient housework for the day.

My mojo thankfully , decided to stick around today. It’s not firing on all fourΒ cylindersΒ but I’ll take anything after yesterday. At least 1/2 the washing is folded, Jasper and I have sorted out the caterpillars on the broccoli and I’ve baked bread, made bread dough for souring/rising in the fridge, got sourdough pasta souring, sourdough cake base souring had a go at sorting the kitchen and the hawthorn jelly is under way. I’ve still had plenty of time to sit and catch up on my blog reading but I do at least feel like we haven’t gone further backwards.

I’m sharing this because a few times I’ve had comments from people about being superwoman with all that I achieve and do but the reality is so far from that ideal that it’s unbelievable. And some days even us eco-warriors if I dare to label myself with such an exalted moniker, need some down time. We have under achieving days. We fall flat on our faces, figuratively and literally. Just like everyone else.

So in the interests of keeping it real and honest, the Rabid Little Hippy is all ready to be rabid again. πŸ˜€

22 thoughts on “My missing mojo

  1. Linne says:

    Resting is as necessary as work; sometimes we don’t recognize the need to rest, or we push through it, then sort of crash. I love that you got up today and are back at it . . . all we can do, really. ~ Linne

  2. narf77 says:

    I am off to pick some rose hips from the wild roses that infest the local district and might pick some haws as well. Steve is still hesitant about making wine with haws, he has his scruples you know! ;). I didn’t do much either apart from study and make tea and walk the dogs. Our monthly washing was brought in (yes…we only wash once a month!). I don’t look at the floor…I just sweep maniacally every now and then and watch as the cloud of dust, silt (our soil relocates itself on a regular basis… it appears to like the living conditions better inside than outside…) and especially dog hair…lots and LOTS of dog hair. If I didn’t know better I would swear that we had another dog that existed only to shed. Sourdough pasta! I am looking for something to give a shot to other than cake to use up Audreys excess on feeding day and thats a great idea…sourdough lasagne sheets! Brillo! You get a Karma hug for that one girl :). I fed her today and there is a cup of mix left over for tomorrows cake experiment…zucchini, beetroot and carrot cake here we come! Can’t wait to see what your cake involves (hawthorns?!!!) Rabid is positively frothing! ;). Glad you found your mojo…mine buggered off years ago and I just wander around gesticulating most of the time in an absent way and Steve fills in the dots ;). He is my mojo rising! πŸ˜‰ (sorry, bad pun I know…blame Linne πŸ˜‰ )

    • Oh I WILL blame Linne for the bad puns. She’s been terning it on for sure! πŸ˜‰
      My cake is to become zucchini and chocolate and I’ll let you know how it goes. My pasta flopped. I think I may be able to turn it into another cake though which would be awesome.
      The haws are worth picking. They do need a bit of sugar but they almost smell christmassy but not quite. I pronounce it delicious, not to mention (excluding the high sugar content) pretty good for you. Good for heart disease and such. Give it a go but you will need to pick a LOT of haws. Wish I could find elderberries. Rosehip something is also on my list one day. I don’t think the products of 3 rose bushes will cut the mustard though and you’d need to be careful against prunings due to pesticides. Gleaning and wild harvesting. Aren’t we the rebels!

      • narf77 says:

        I will be yarn bombing next! (just have to learn to knit 2 and perl the wool forwards or whatever the heck…) and lets not forget our seed bombing of boring commercial gardens that would otherwise ONLY contain phormiums (flax) and cottoneasters…(and now contain nasturtiums and cornflowers πŸ˜‰ )

        • I’m not up on yarn bombing. Fill me in?

          As for seed bombs, I’d love to make them with the kids. Is it a good time to make them now, ready for spring planting? I’d love to do some local native flowers and we can go and throw them around in the bush without spreading weeds.
          I reckon some red poppies, corn flowers, nigella, and if johnny jump ups weren’t such a nuisance…

          • narf77 says:

            or forgetmenots? ;)…yarn bombing is where people crochet or knit around telephone boxes, on buses, cars, flagpoles etc. and leave bright coloured reminders that someone cares about the city or at least the fencepost or mailbox that they yarnbombed… sort of graffiti for crafters πŸ˜‰

            • I have too many things I want to knit for myself to knit up a telephone pole but the idea is kinda cool! I wonder if people frog them after they’re done and reuse the yarn.

              I have forget-me-nots all the way through our creek bank. I think they’re pretty but thought they were a weed.

              • narf77 says:

                a weed indeed my girl! After they flower they develop little sticky seeds (the true meaning of the name forget me not) and if anything walks through them they end up covered in them. Wait till the kids bring them inside and you are muttering and wailing trying to remove them from their clothes…NOT fun and they don’t wash out in the wash either :(. I like the idea of yarn bombing and much like graffiti artists, other yarn bombers protect the “art”…its sort of a tribal thing for geeky crafters and I LOVE the idea πŸ™‚ Those seed bombs would be a great idea for you and the children to make and sow. Great idea for the seeds also but try californian poppies as well because they are indestructable and beautiful to boot πŸ™‚

                • Ah, stickyweed! Those wretched little balls of SHEER HELL! Stupid cats get themselves covered in the wretched things then share the love. And then they have the nerve to bite me when I try to de-ball them (not those balls either, they were done years ago πŸ˜‰ ). I now officially DESPISE forget-me-nots.
                  As for Californian poppies, I have a pack I was given so that solves that then! πŸ˜€

                  • narf77 says:

                    I think you could plant Californian poppies on the moon and they would grow :). Sticky weed needs rain to get good and sticky and we haven’t had any since early November and so we didn’t even get any this year! I guess you have to look at the positives in everything! And we don’t have cats to get stuck up ;). Our boys coats are short and they don’t get stuck to them but they stick to your pants like superglue and are a bollocks to get off. I might yarn bomb our own mailbox…from little things big things grow (first the mailbox, then the Batman Bridge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜‰ )

    • By the way, try the no knead bread recipe again and make Steve what we call English muffins for breakfast. Do the rustic version though, sod using scone cutters and all that bollox. He will love them! πŸ™‚ Also, make the bikkies. I LURVE the ginger ones but they’re more like little soft cakes than real bikkies. I’m gonna try them sans bicarb one day and I reckon they will be more cookie like. Pita bread might work well for lunchtime too. Pack salad and some cheese and ham in Steve’s, or hommus and dill, cheese and tomato and heat that one or whatever. I’ve not made them yet…

      • narf77 says:

        I made the muffins and the results were sad to say the least :(…I will give those ginger bickies a go as bickies are something that works well here. As there are only 2 of us (and 2 hog like dogs) I have yet to learn to adjust recipes for only 1 (Steve) and am going to have to start delivering cakes etc. to the neighbours to take up the slack…”come on you guys…open your doors… you KNOW you want some radish kimchi, a sourdough carrot cake AND a bucket of eggplants!” πŸ˜‰

        • Lol. I turned my failed khorosan grain sourdough pasta into more cake. I have 1 chocolate cake and 2 chocolate zucchini cakes. We love but don’t generally eat cake here. I’ll ice them up, deliver 1 along with some bread to a friend in Ballan, another to another friend and the 3rd will also either become a gift or add to my hips. πŸ˜‰
          The muffins are perfect then as you just take out the dough you want. Make up a 1/3 mix of the bread dough, enough for a small loaf for Steve only and you then make the new batch as you bake the old one. if you can get through a loaf every 2-3 days it won’t be too sour for Steves tastebuds and you can just take 1 handful of dough out every morning to dry fry up a muffin. That’s all there is to it. πŸ˜€

          • narf77 says:

            I will give it a go (bread and muffin trifecta πŸ˜‰ )…my neighbour Frank is still recovering from the rumballs that I gave him at Christmas time…did you ever see a U.K. sitcom called “One Foot in the Grave?” Frank is the Aussie personification of Victor Meldrew ;). Kudos on the cakes and I will give the pasta a go and see if I can’t make it sing with the vestibule choir πŸ™‚

            • Have you tried the skillet pancakes yet?

              • narf77 says:

                I haven’t tried them because Steve doesn’t like panackes. I am saving them to share with my daughters when I next go to visit :). They have a waffle iron and I might make them sourdough waffles as well.

                • My friend made the waffles and said they’re great. We love the pancakes although they’re the thick ones, more like pancake parlour than crepes. I’ve made the crepes before too and they’re also gorgeous. What am I saying, it’s sourdough, of COURSE it’s gorgeous!

  3. ingridlee@bigpond.com says:

    Haha, I thought mojo was labido! If you find it, ask it to get a message to mine and tell it to go back home!

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. It is nice to see that others loose their mojo too! Although I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

