Very Inspiring Blogger Award

I am feeling pretty honoured this morning as I have received a Very Inspiring Blogger Award. πŸ™‚Thanks LinneΒ from A Random Harvest. I am feeling less than worthy of the award though as I guess I can see the rough draft of my life with all its errors and faults, yet publishing means it’s been through many edits and you guys don’t see all of the bits that made the cutting room floor. It’s not that I’m hiding the bad bits but do you really need to know ALL the small details? πŸ˜‰ So, here I am feeling less than deserving and very honoured and a little overwhelmed in there for good measure, and about to pass on the honour and share with you some blogs that I find very inspiring to me personally and also to our journey into a greener lifestyle.

 

But first things first…

Rules

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
  5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

Seven things about me

  1. I was born on Friday the 13th. I am not superstitious as such but love hearing about different superstitions.
  2. I love vintage fashion. I love the styles of the 40’s, particularly the war years where fashion was heavily dictated by rationing. I also adore the frivolity and sheer meterage of fabrics in the dresses of the 50’s too and I often wear vintage inspired clothes.
  3. I love shopping at oportunity/thrift/second hand shops. There is little challenge in going to the shops for a red jumper. If red is in season you will find it. However, there are no guarantees you will even find a jumper in an op shop. The challenge to find what you want is much greater and the thrill of the hunt is awesome.
  4. I have a pretty eclectic taste in music. Odd songs from current music, lots of 80’s music, particularly Australian 80’s music, songs from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s and I love the 40’s music too. Bring on the Andrews Sisters, Vera Lynne, Frank Sinatra of course and more.
  5. I have had a planned homebirth. Orik, our 3rd child was born at home in a birth pool in about 2 hours. He is my biggest baby to date and my easiest labour. I am completely pro womens choice as to where they birth and I hate the laws and restrictions placed on women everywhere as to how they choose to birth.
  6. My favourite meal would have to be either roaast lamb, mint sauce, roasted spuds, green beans, pumpkin and cauliflower cheese or macaroni cheese which I am now intolerant of (wheat in pasta) and then one of (all of?) the following for dessert. Lemon delicious pudding, golden syrup dumplings or apple crumble with generous lashings of cream. πŸ™‚ Sweet tooth much?
  7. I love language. I can’t say I speak any fluently outside of English but I speak some Italian, some German and I can say hello, how are you and thank you in several others including French, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, Greek, Thai, AUSLAN and Indonesian. I used to work at a language school where I taught ESL and they taught all these languages except AUSLAN and Thai. We were expected to greet the students in the language they were learning. I also loved learning it simply for the sake of learning it. πŸ™‚ I also studied Linguistics at Uni also doing Italian and AUSLAN there although I learned Italian in Primary School and AUSLAN in church from the deaf couple who attended. Linguistics, the study of language as a concept fascinates me even still. it’s why I chose to name our house in Latin. I would love to learn Latin one day. πŸ™‚

Ok, blogs that inspire me.

Greening of Gavin – one of the blogs that really psh started our eco journey into reality rather than just talking the talk and dreaming.

Living the Good Life – still a huge inspiration to me. The things they do, the antics they and their animals get up to! Brilliant.

The Road to Serendipity – a blog I found via a comment on Living the Good Life and one I have followed since. Kindred spirits across Bass Strait I hope one day to meet Fran and Steve.

A Random Harvest – Where my nomination came from. Linne’s comments on both my blog and on Road to Serendipity have me either agog in awe, giggling or nodding in agreement. Another kindred spirit although sadly a little further afield even though we both live in Victoria. πŸ˜‰

Birth Without Fear – This is a blog I came across via their Facebook page and a huge inspiration leading to our decision to have a home birth. They are supportive of every kind of birth, freebirth, home birth, water birth, VBAC’s, elective caesarians, medicated and unmedicated births. A blog dedicated to supporting women birth however they birth but they are very pro information which I love most about them.

Milkwood – Another amazing blog of people out there really living the dream and also teaching the dream! One day I will attend one of their courses. One day.

The Eco Mum – Another blog I came to via Facebook and now a friend too. The Eco Mum has beena great go-to place for home remedies and to answer the questions of “this is wrong. What can I use to fix it?” Her little book of remedies is great and I absolutely swear by her Essential salve and BabyΒ Balsam. Replace your savlon and vapour rub. πŸ™‚

That’s just a few of the blogs I follow who inspire me but if I keep going I’ll get nothing done here today and I have far too much to do for that to happen. πŸ™‚ I know it says 15 but hey, you get that. πŸ˜›

 

 

25 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Linne says:

    Thank you! I wasn’t expecting to get it back! You DO deserve it! You inspire not only me, but lots of others. To see my interests and beliefs replicated out there is so uplifting for me! Remember, please, this isn’t an award for the ‘Perfect’ Blogger; it’s for being a very ‘Inspiring’ blogger!

    You can always award more in a few days, you know πŸ˜‰ It took me several days to get it slk together snd I don’t have kids at home!

    Truly, thank you so much!

  2. LyndaD says:

    Congratulations! You are an inspiration.

  3. narf77 says:

    My son was born on Friday 13th as well ;). Interesting facts about you… I don’t do “awards” but I am nosy and had to be a fly on the wall when both you and Linne revealed your innermost deepest secrets…you are in my notebook now so you had best put on your tinfoil hats and disregard that unmarked white van outside your doors…”nothing to see here…move along!” ;). Next time I go op shopping I am going to hunt out all of the “old daggy” stuff I can find and send it to you! πŸ˜‰ Tasmanian’s only like ancient or brand spanking new. Anything 40’s/50’s or 60’s is all over the place in thrift shops (not so much clothing but household stuff). You had orik at home? At HOME! Where did you get your drugs? How could you POSSIBLY have that gas mask welded to your face (while you screamed blue murder…the only time I have been able to multitask πŸ˜‰ ) if you were at home? The closest any of my births got to “natural” was when I taught myself to breath to control labour pains in my last birthing episode and totally ignored everyone for the entire event and almost “breathed” myself into oblivion ;). I admire women who can birth naturally beyond belief and even though I sniffed (hogged) the gas for each of my deliveries I delivered naturally and I have an excuse… I have “backwards pregnancies” thanks to a retroverted womb which removed all of that pain from the midriff and crammed it all into my back, every single contraction was felt in my spine and that’s about all I need to say about that except to say that I bend my husbands gold wedding band into a football shape…birth is SUCH fun! Sorry (in advance) to all blissful new couples reading this and looking horrified…reality bites guys! πŸ˜‰ Cheers for the sharing post…I am off to bed now to compile my notebook dossiers on you both… πŸ˜‰

    • Linne says:

      I’ll have to come back to answer more fully; just wanted to share this:
      my first grandson was also born on the 13th (May). It wasn’t a Friday, but of course every few years his birthday falls on Friday the 13th. Now is that weird or what?

      Wish I’d been there for you, narf! I’ve been an unofficial doula at five births (two in hospital and three at home) and a doula or midwife can make a huge difference. My son and DIL had a midwife for the first grandson (and she’d had one for her first child, my eldest granddaughter, too, but the midwife pretty much excluded my son, which they weren’t happy about, so the next three births they did on their own. I was there for two of them and a friend came for the last one (I couldn’t get down to the coast, unfortunately). The first freebirth (my second grandson) was a breech at the last minute, with one leg down and one up! But Mum managed just fine, stayed calm and talked the baby through and when he was checked out a couple of days later, he was just fine. I had hospital births and was not happy with them, although my younger son (the last child) was born without my having any drugs at all and it was the best of them. There are things that make it worse and things that make it better. I’ll have to share some of what I know one day . . . and if you decide to have more, Narf, do let me know and I’ll start saving for airfare . . . πŸ™‚

      • narf77 says:

        If I decide to have more children at 49 I think I might need you as a psychologist more than a doula Linne! πŸ˜‰ Steve and I talked about having a baby together when we first got to gether (when I was 34) and he was happy to go with helping rear my 2 daughters (my son was 17 when we finally moved in together). Back last century when I had my children drugs were the norm and there wasn’t an option for anything else. It is very different now. I really do think that you should write a book about your life and your experiences Linne. There are a whole lot of people out there that could really benefit from all of your knowledge and experience :).

  4. greeningofgavin says:

    Congratulations Jessie, and thanks for passing it on. I don’t normally do blog awards, but I might just pass it on to a few sustainable living newbies that I have been keeping an eye on!

    • I pass on awards to share with my readers some other great blogs that I find inspiring and to thank the inspiring bloggers. πŸ™‚ I do, as my friend said, think they are pretty much chain mail so I have no expectation for them to be passed on. However, sharing the love with some newbies is a wonderful idea. πŸ™‚

      • Linne says:

        I am so new, I never thought of awards that way. I got mine back again (thanks, RLH!!) and will now use this simpler method; just using it to encourage other new bloggers and to introduce some other great sites! Thanks for sharing that idea!!

  5. narf77 says:

    Just tried to send you 3 emails (two replying to your emails and one new just to see if it is only reply emails that are stuffing up) and all 3 got sent back as undeliverable. I checked the address and it is the same as the address that got through to you this morning…just wondering if you are having server problems? It must be from your end because our end is sending, it is being returned from your end. What kind of security have you got? Steve has studied I.T. so he knows what he is talking about ;).

    • Nothing that I know of but I will look into it. That is mega strange. Maybe my email isn’t speaking to your email this week. πŸ˜‰
      I just sent you another email in regards to vegan chocolate. Do you want to let me know if it’s come through? Being a chocolate recipe is the added incentive to get you to check immediately. πŸ˜›

      • narf77 says:

        I am getting emails from you, you just aren’t getting emails from me and I can’t reply to your emails any more. I just tested (sent an email to myself) and it’s not from our side so it must be being bounced from your server.

  6. 23thorns says:

    Congrats! I was checking out Southern hemisphere sites so i wouldn’t have to read about the coming of spring anymore when I saw you’d cracked the nod for a well deserved reward. Writing stuff on the internet is one thing, but actually living it is another thing entirely.
    Good luck for your first winter in your new home.

    • Thank you 23. πŸ™‚ Yes, I too am kind of over all the “where is spring” posts from many of the blogs I follow. I love the snowy pictures though, it’s just the “I wanna plant my garden” that keeps on recurring (no Linne, you’ve not bored me at all πŸ™‚ ) I for one am over the warm weather and very much looking forward to winter. This is something I have NEVER said in my life but I am looking forward to the long dark evenings where we can just all be close and warm around Ignisa as a family. Hibernation if you will.
      Loved your post on grass the other day too. Dare I say it up Grassias. πŸ˜‰

  7. 23thorns says:

    You dare indeed. It’s something that’s obviously come with middle age, but these days I love me some puns. There’s something deeply satisfying about the collective groan that meets a really good one.

    • You’d get on well with my husband then. He’s the master of highly groanable one liners (sorry honey πŸ˜‰ ). His favourite was when a co-worker had a plate put in her leg and he asked her if it was bone china.

  8. Congratulations Rabidlitlehippy! You have a great blog. We can’t underestimate the changes we’re all making on an individual and a collaborative level by sharing our journey into a different life and hopefully a sustainable world.

    • Linda, thank you! πŸ˜€ I think there is a much larger impact than first seen when one individual makes a change. The unseen fuel and carbon costs in the production of the food we buy that’s transported in from gods only knows where are often forgotten in the equation, the manufacturing costs that are no longer applicable when we buy second hand items and then there is the added oxygen we add to the atmosphere that comes from the trees we’ve planted. And that effect would be cumulative the more people that do their part. πŸ™‚
      Your blog, beginning with your initial experiment in QLD and your lifestyle in Tasmania have been hugely inspirational to our journey for which I cannot thank you enough for sharing. πŸ™‚

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

