Is a ‘Game of Thrones’ winter coming?

It sounds like one of my favourite films, The Day after Tomorrow isn’t going to be as far off the mark as I one thought. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Grist

George R.R. Martinโ€™s wildly popular Game of Thrones saga โ€” whose third season just launched on HBO โ€” is, on the broadest level, a story driven by climatic change. โ€œWinter is coming,โ€ warn the ill-fated Starks, a family of northern nobles who help guard the realm from the frozen beyond. In Martinโ€™s world, winters and summers vary in length and can for last years or even a generation โ€” and as the books advance, a devastating winter begins to descend, forcing southward migrations and an intense test of mettle to see who can literally stand against the cold.

Back on Planet Earth, our own weather has felt distinctly Game of Thrones-like lately โ€” depending heavily, of course, upon where you live. But if youโ€™re in the northeastern U.S., 2012 felt like a long summer, with scarce any winter at all โ€” whereas early 2013 featured a snowy winter thatโ€ฆ

View original post 795 more words

13 thoughts on “Is a ‘Game of Thrones’ winter coming?

  1. LyndaD says:

    I’ve heard people raving about this but had no idea what it is about. Sounds like it would be a great book. Must investigate.

  2. Linne says:

    Thanks for the photo of Ciaran Hinds; one of my favourites. I’ve read all the books except the last one. Martin is on my ‘bad’ list, due to his taking FOREVER to get a book to print!! Then I forget the details and have to start over at the beginning . . . there’s only so many times I’m willing to do that . . .

    As to a global winter, this jury’s still out on that; all I’m sure of is that we are likely in for massive changes of some sort . . . I think about it, though, as I’ve been reading in the general area for most of my life.

    Skills, supplies, tools and utensils, plus skilled and sturdy comrades who are somewhat mature (individually and socislly); gather them now! If you end up not needing them, fine; if you do, you’ll have a chance to build a much better world . . .

    • I don’t think we will end up with a global winter but I think the weather is already heading to more extreme weather. I mean how often do you experience snow in mid April? It could be often or not but I get the feeling that the northern half of our planet (America, Canada and the UK at least) is experiencing a prolonged winter and I know we have had some wonderful but in my mind at least, prolonged warm weather. Makes you wonder hey.

      • Linne says:

        Well, in Edmonton they have snow in April most winters and sometimes in May, too. No-one plants before the last werk of May. They have had snow in every month of the year in the past 30 years. I’m mostly from the coast, where many winters we had no snow some years snow for a week or so abd once a decade or less a deep snow (3 ft or so) in a day or two; that shuts the city down for a couple of days! But it never lasts. So here, after 6 months of it, I’m more than ready for change!

  3. narf77 says:

    All I know about the game of thrones is that “David…the only gay in the village Matt Lucus” is in it. My son loves this show. Perhaps the earth flipping poles last year might be causing elongated winters and summers? We have to check things out scientifically BEFORE we panic remember ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Not panicking, just speculating. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Linne says:

      I hadn’t heard that the magnetic poles had flipped, but was expecting it. Where did you find out? I’ve been following earthquakes a bit, and volcanos, too.

      • narf77 says:

        My son is a natural events follower…if it’s likely to happen (sun spots, magnetic poles flipping, comets etc.) he will know about it WAY in advance ;). He likes to call himself an “Optimistic pessimist ;)”

        • So we should watch this space for any “end of the world as we know it” news then? ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • narf77 says:

            Yup…Stewart is the very first to know…believe me when I say that, he follows some very “interesting” scientific blogs and if you want to know when we are going to have the highest chances of carking it, just give me a call ๐Ÿ˜‰ Funny how my incredibly glass half full ideals are tempered by my wonderful pragmatic accountant son’s glass half empty isn’t it? One could even say it was a case of the world trying to restore equilibrium! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

