What does the future hold?

Several posts on blogs I follow have really got me thinking of late, about what the future will hold. Gavin from the Greening of Gavin had a dream which he wrote out and shared as a short story (read it here) which really struck a deep chord with me. Thanks Gav! And today, I made a conscious decision to try to live some of that dream.

Note to self, do NOT leave the butter out in reach of the kids again.

Note to self, do NOT leave the butter out in reach of the kids again.

Martin wanted to run up to the post office as a parcel was waiting for him to collect and rather than walk which although a great choice environmentally, does take time which is of the essence on weekends to us, I encouraged him to hop on his new bike (thanks Lynda!). He did and was back before I thought he would be. πŸ™‚ I then decided to follow suite as I wanted to pop into the Ballan Farmers Market and grab some more peanut butter. So, I too used the power of the pedal to head up the hill to the market. Well, apart from looking mighty funny as I wobbled and nearly toppled a dozen times before reaching the edge of our property, then fumbling the gear changes and dropping the chain 3 times I did eventually arrive at the market with wobbly knees, shaking hands and a heaving set of lungs, but over all triumphantly! I had cycled to the market and been on a bike for the first time in probably 10 years. AND I LOVED IT! πŸ˜€ Cycling back was a little scarier as it was faster with a tail wind and heading downhill but I made it back with my goodies and without stacking. i am feeling mighty proud of myself. I need to get up my level of fitness now, source a bike trailer, fit the toddler seat and get 3 kids (a total weight of about 45kgs excluding the trailer and seat) and get me up to the supermarket and such as once peak oil arrives, a car trip for the 500m to the shops is a luxury that we will not be able to afford.

Yes, those ARE teeth marks.

Yes, those ARE teeth marks.

I felt like I moved a step closer to the future I want to see.

I also fired an email off to a friend the other day inviting her up to visit the “farm” as she sees our place. She wants to meet the chooksΒ and ducks and kids too so I envision a lovely time. She has a new job however and its one she can no longer catch public transport to get to so she wants to plant a few trees to help offset her carbon miles (a great idea I reckon) and she wants to plant them here (I won’t say no) so I’ve fired back an email outlining our plans for the food forest garden and then she can not only balance her carbon miles somewhat but it will be something of tremendous use and help to us with fruit that she would be more than welcome to come and enjoy too. πŸ™‚ I’ve suggested she consider the Nagasakiwase Loquat I’m hoping to put in (if you haven’t tried a loquat you’re missing out) but there are plenty of other trees we will be putting in including non edibles for nitrogen storage and later on firewood too. Many exciting possibilities.

Anyway, to the future I see. I do see a time where things are quite possibly going to be pretty ugly. There will be a storm before the calm but that first sunrise after a big storm always brings hope, even when it does reveal the damage done. I see a time when people will scramble to make sense and try to get by but once that time has passed I truly believe there will be a future that is much brighter than even we, living at the so-called peak of civilisation, could never have imagined. We will not need to make a stand to be ecological, where we won’t have recycling because everyone will automatically repurpose, where money won’t be anywhere near as prevalent or important as everyone will instead barter with swaps and trades of goods and services, where communities are once again thriving and local, where employment is available to all, even if it is seasonal (shearing, harvesting), where everyone will have veggies or fruit trees or chickens or some form of food crop to raise for themselves and for trading. Maybe I am being incredibly Utopian but better to aim for the sun I say. If we miss we will still end up out amongst the stars. πŸ™‚

Well, time for me to go get some things done whilst Orik sleeps and the other monkeys are out with daddy and get started on building that future dream. πŸ™‚

33 thoughts on “What does the future hold?

  1. narf77 says:

    Atta girl Rabid! That’s a wholesome positive view of the future that this little black Tassie duck loves to see, full of possibilities and hope and although being aware of the negatives, not dwelling on them overly and making sure to have your own plan B :). Love those bite marks…BIG rats at your place eh? ;). You have me thinking about getting a bike. One thing I just thought about that would occur with peak oil is that there would be a significant increase in small local shops selling locally sourced items. Can you imagine us cycling all the way to Launceston for a candle? Beaconsfield is our closest town at 8km as the crow flies. This little black duck has lost a bit of weight recently but even so, that’s quite an outing for me. We have a local shop about a kilometre away that we very rarely frequent because it is quite expensive. Maybe the “cost” of cycling 8km to Beaconsfield and another 8km back might suddenly be more than cycling 2km total up to the local store? That’s going to help that small business and suddenly there are possibilities all around…lots more jobs thanks to everything being produced by hand, lots of healthy kids thanks to all hands on deck in the gardens and community veggie gardens and suddenly it looks more like Utopia than terror and THAT is where I want to dwell :). Who knows what the future is going to bring us, but you can be damned sure that it is going to happen no matter what our outlook is, it’s up to us to give it our best shot and that’s all we can do to be honest. Love today’s post and hope you have a great day with your rats πŸ˜‰

    • Lol rats indeed! πŸ˜‰
      I highly suggest supporting your local but pricey shop either by shanks pony or 2 (or more) wheels rather than driving further. We always forget that a pack of biscuits that cost $4 locally but might be $2 but further afield but the cost isn’t the true one. How much for petrol? How much for parking if applicable and how much is spent on the gym membership that won’t be needed if you’re cycling or walking. πŸ˜‰ THERE is the true price of those bikkies. Or milk or whatever. I’d also support local shops now as they too will struggle to remain open in the early times if the coming changes (crisis is such a negative word but I don’t see these changes as negative so much these days πŸ˜‰ ) so supporting them now will help them to remain open and eventually thrive when they’re not so much the local shop but the only realistic one. πŸ™‚
      I get a little caught up sometimes in how much we need to do to be ready; skills to learn, equipment to source and so on, that I forget to look passed all that and see the wonderful world awaiting us. Modern technologies, ecological focus and the cleanliness of a pre-industrial revolution world. Where hard work is the order of the day balanced with comfort and close knit families and communities. I cannot wait to breathe in that air unpolluted by car and truck emissions, eat the fruit untainted by pesticides and enjoy the fruits of our labour. πŸ™‚ hey, it’s a positive day today. πŸ˜€

      • narf77 says:

        Here here for positive days :).

        • I’ll raise a glass of my looking doubtful but does have bubbles nettle beer. πŸ˜‰

          • narf77 says:

            I will see your raise, and raise you a raise with my home made soy milk kefir that has a reasonable amount of alcohol by the “repetitions” that I have been experiencing after making my green breakfast smoothie with it this morning πŸ˜‰

              • narf77 says:

                “BURP!” (tee-hee…like a fizzy coke burp without the acid reflux! πŸ˜‰ )

                • Hic! *slides to the floor with a vacant stare* Given that I no longer drink, 1 mouthful would have me pretty well pickled I reckon. πŸ˜‰

                  • narf77 says:

                    It’s definately a bit “pissy”. I haven’t drunk alcohol in ages so I, too would be under the table. I guess thems the benefits of fizzy natural kefir pop eh? πŸ˜‰ And who says that we ferementers and vegans are crackpots? We have our heads screwed on right! “I am just sipping my vegan kefir drink officer…would you like a sip?…” no-one would suspect! πŸ˜‰

                    • “Oh officer, it’s just milk. See?”
                      One day we shall be well sought after for our brewery knowledge. I comfort myself that whilst now I am rabid and hippy, one day that shall be wonderfully normal. I’ll have to do something else crackpot then to keep the moniker hey. πŸ˜‰

                    • narf77 says:

                      I can’t wait to see what it is…maybe fermented bee salve for lip balm? How about garlic infused deoderant? Or what about backpacks made out of plarn? I just gave you 3 blog posts right there…don’t thank me, I won’t remember in the morning! πŸ˜‰

                    • At least I won’t be alone in my crackpot madness. πŸ˜‰

                    • narf77 says:

                      πŸ˜‰ Darned right…we can all come seething out of the woodwork and there isn’t a darned thing that they can do about it! WE RULE! πŸ˜‰

                    • Now we sound like zombies! Or rodents. πŸ˜€

                    • narf77 says:

                      “SQUEEK!” πŸ˜‰ (oops…forgot we have 12 feral cats on the property… “s.q.u.e.e.k.” πŸ˜‰ )

                    • Not to mention your feral roosters who will give you a run for your money. πŸ˜‰

                    • narf77 says:

                      The Fu@#ers are under the deck and have been crowing since I turned on the kitchen light at 3.30am… I can mentally see the spot where the axe is going to meet their scrawny (still crowing!) necks should I EVER be able to get Steve out of bed before 7am πŸ˜‰

                    • If those roosters continue to disturb his sleep and you make him his favourite breakfast and a BIG steaming cup of his brew of choice the smell and the noise may entice him up and out to do the deed.

                    • narf77 says:

                      Not sure I would want to handle the complaining for the rest of the day though he has “man flu” and is apparently half dead (although he looks fine to me! πŸ˜‰ )

                    • narf77 says:

                      Steve is professing “man flu” at the moment. I think he is feeling the change of seasons a lot more than I am (sensitive little petal πŸ˜‰ ) so I am pampering him at the moment and won’t mention the roosters…that man could sleep through artillary shells dropping next to the bedroom!

                    • THAT is a man trait for sure. Men sleep through screaming babies! πŸ˜‰

                    • narf77 says:

                      Funny how they suddenly develop narcolepsy when there is a dirty nappy around as well? πŸ˜‰

                    • Yeaaa…. Naaaa. I’m the nappy narcoleptic. I figure I change them Monday to Friday from 7am til 6:30pm so I’m entitled to a break in the evenings and weekends. It’s only fair hey. πŸ˜‰

                    • narf77 says:

                      I am WELL over nappy changing…Stewart turned 31 yesterday and his sisters aren’t too far behind him ;).

                    • I was the mother of a 14 month old by age 31. If you’re out of practice and want to get some practice in again before grandkids, I have 2 in nappies from which you can choose. πŸ˜‰

                    • BTW, Happy birthday Stewart and good luck with the job.

  2. LyndaD says:

    Hi Girls, great post. Glad the bikes are being put to use. I wish i had photos. They are big rats and i had that breed too when Tom was small. I use to go to the fridge and a handful would be missing from the tub. Yuk! Now it is cheese, so the Rat is still around just almost 6ft tall. He heats it by the handful straight out of the packet. So i fixed his red wagon and break it up into small snappy locks and freeze them. He can only get at a handful at a time unless he wants to eat it frozen. I absolutely love loquats so if no one gets it for you, i am. We use to gorge ourselves on them when we were kids but they are quite rare to see now. Chat Later – off to do some gardening.

    • lol, my rats haven’t quite reached the “help yourself” age although when I have asked them to fetch things from the fridge I’ve seen them climbing those glass shelves EEK! I can see what is going to happen one day. 😦
      Loquats are just divine and I discovered the other day that they have medicinal qualities too including being a mild sedative if eaten in sufficient quantities. No issues with MY monkeys gorging themselves silly there. πŸ˜‰

  3. foodnstuff says:

    Good to see a young person (as I assume you are) fully aware of what’s coming down the line, but at the same time making positive life-style changes to prepare. Yes, humanity is going to go through a bottleneck for some years and may not even survive, but if we do, our lives will be so much the better for it. Sad that so many won’t see it that way until it happens. Keep positive and adapt to the changes and you and your family will make it through πŸ˜‰

    • Young is a relative term hey. I’m 34. I think that puts me somewhere in the middle of young and old although some days I just feel old and tired. Today? Young but aging fast. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been busy though and I’ve earned my aches and pains. πŸ™‚

  4. graceoverflowing says:

    I apologise for being such a bad friend! Love your dreams. It may be utopic but knowing that makes it not so much.

    We have recently lost our last chicken due to our crazy hot summers and so have been rethinking my garden area. Trying to think long term and how best I work and what would be a good investment of my time. I also need to rework the chicken yard to maximize shade and possibly extend some sprinklers into their yard to keep it cool and water for green food.

    Excited to think it all through. I think we often look at what we want to do without first breaking it down and looking first at what we are capable of. I tend to get myself thinking 10 steps ahead Aaron gets stressed as he is still only on step 1. So, I need to pull back and look to the next step while keeping the whole picture in view.

    Your excitement has always been contagious. Off to check out some photos. So glad to see your dreams slowly becoming a reality!! You go girl!

    • Hey there “bad friend”. πŸ˜‰ Missed you! In fact, I’ve been thinking about you and saw one of my crocheted top hand towels that you gave me back in 1994 or 1995 which I STILL have and use. πŸ˜€
      Check out tagasaste trees for your chook pen. They are PERFECT for your climate, soil type and rainfall – in fact just perfect for your neck of the woods fullstop! Tagasaste or tree lucerne will provide fast growing shade, nitrogen fixing for your soil and the best bit is that it’s an animal fodder tree so you can feed it to your chooks, goats if you plan to get them, cows, sheep etc. Kinda perfect all rounder. πŸ™‚
      Also, look seriously into food forest gardens hun. Your boys would LOVE them as they are complete sensory overload – textures, smells, sounds, sights and awesome fun in the planning and putting into action. I’ve got the hang of mine now I think and will be starting off with a small water catching pond (I’ve always wanted water lilies πŸ™‚ ) that overflows into the swales which will zig zag across the entire garden before emptying into the creek. I’ve got some software and I’m hoping to involve Jas in the planning of it. 7 layers of garden in one spot, fun choosing plants and a beautiful oasis of green and production that becomes self sustaining and incredibly low maintenance too. πŸ˜€

      • Sue says:

        Your food forest planning is going much better than mine!
        I need to get a wriggle on if we are going to compare notes πŸ™‚

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

