A workshop in Sourdough

Yesterday I attended the Prickleberry Sourdough workshop on how to make sourdough. Considering how much I have learned and how my bread turns out most of the time (not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but not bad none the less) I was really surprised with just how much I learned. All complimentary to what I already knew but I did learn why some of the breads I’ve made are less than satisfactory. And I’ve now got another starter on the go who shall be named Andreas (please don’t let mt brother-in-law know I’ve named some flour, water and wild yeasts after him ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

I’ve come away with 2 recipes, or 2 variations of the same recipe for bread and then information on how to jazz up the bread in a dozen ways. Whilst we made fruit loaves using soaked apricots, sultanas and spices, Oskar made chocolate loaf. Yep, chocolate bread! NOICE! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve come home with quite a doughy bounty. I have a new starter, a loaf of plain shaped loaf, a cob fruit loaf (the way to form a cob loaf is MUCH harder than I thought – practice needed there), dough that I made there, now baked into olive bread here at home this morning and as there was extra dough at the end of the class and we hung around to chat, another batch of dough I made into a tinned loaf this morning. I learned that the oldest known sourdough starter in Australia is about 150 years old and kept in 3 forms – dried, fresh and frozen. I learned that starters do well with sugars in them and Andreas has a slice of apple in him which I will discard tomorrow and a generous pinch of sultanas which will remain indefinitely. I also learned that using the water from cooking spuds makes a very sour smelling starter but even an over fermented apple based starter will smell of sweet apple cider vinegar. I also learned that I have been baking with a LOT of starter which may not all be necessary. Now there are different ways to bake and everyone has their own method, recipe and style and I’m not actually wrong which what I’ve been doing but I now have other recipes and techniques. I had an absolute ball making it too.

The only bad news I have to report is that not once did I think of taking a photo! Not a since one. Sorry.

Prickleberry Sourdough are only a new bakery (although Oskar grew up in a cake bakery on Ackland Street) and have done very well for themselves with their new store opining in a little over a month in Mair Street (just in case anyone is going through Ballarat or lives locally) and given the taste of the breads we ate throughout the day, if you can visit I highly recommend it. They have a Facebook page if you’re on Facebook too –https://www.facebook.com/prickleberrysourdough

8 thoughts on “A workshop in Sourdough

  1. Sharon says:

    Wow the workshop sounds awesome, I have never made sourdough bread but love it, love your blog

  2. LyndaD says:

    Its pretty cool how we can take the little bit of knowledge we have, learn some more, get a bit more experience and then start teaching and sharing with others (all with a disclaimer of not being experts). Bread is such a wonderful thing and sourdough is of course the ultimate. Looking forward to chocolate bread at your place. Soon, i promise.

    • I wasn’t planning to make the chocolate bread to be honest. I do however plan to experiment with lots of other delicious flavours and yummy healthful additives (Prickleberry make a fig and walnut bread that sounds delicious and I’m thinking apple, cinnamon and sultanas should work too) that won’t send my kids off to the crazy end of the pool. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. narf77 says:

    Narf7 is hoping that her good friend Jess from Ballan will send on and share some of the recipes? Hopefully the starter etc and the folding technique especially ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. The Life of Clare says:

    We make all our own bread at home, it’s all sourdough. It’s the absolute best! Check out http://www.figjamandlimecordial.com, she has easy to follow sourdough recipes. My husband has even started making our bread when I get to busy with work.

    • I’ve got several recipes now but never too many! I shall check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you
      We bake almost exclusively with sourdough unless I have no dough ready and we need bread in a hurry.
      Martin hasn’t got into the baking so much although he’s done the oven part or made sure Ignisa has the necessary wood for heat but he leaves that up to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. […] Bertha, my sourdough starter from some years back died a slow and mouldy death.ย My kefir has been going ok but after a couple of long ferments I had lost my grains amidst the curdled kefir of an overcooked batch. And after my weekend away at The Village Continuum where I’d learned about kefir cultured cheeses I figuredย it was time to buy some new grains. […]

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

