An easy meal that I can grow all the ingredients for at home

In theory at least. I’ve not managed it quite yet but I know I can.

Homemade potato cakes.

This is a meal that for me conjures up memories of family, warmth and Friday nights. It’s a quick and easy meal for kids or side dish and it works for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and even the leftovers, should you actually have any, are almost as good. It’s also vegetarian, although it can accompany meat with ease.

Frying up the potato cakes. You can see the extra liquid is from too many eggs but still tastes great.

Frying up the potato cakes. You can see the extra liquid is from too many eggs but still tastes great.

Depending on how many you are feeding, grab some spuds. I used washed ones and included the skins but just peel them if you want. Grate them up. This is the only time consuming bit really and if you have a food processor with a grater attachment then it’s a cinch. To your grated spuds, add eggs, enough so that they seem not quite enough and it almost feels like it’s not going to hold together. I usually end up adding too many eggs but even if you do it’s no big deal as you just end up with the extra potatoes and egg at the end for a frittata. 🙂 Add salt, pepper, herbs etc to taste (I can’t grow the pepper yet but there is an Australian native that I can grow which is a perfect pepper substitute) then fry off in a not-too-hot fry pan in an oil or fat of your choice. Flip and cook the other side. You don’t want them to cook on too high a heat or the potatoes won’t quite be cooked but it won’t take all that long either. Either drain on paper towel or serve and then serve with tomato sauce (lashings thereof), under a curry, with a sprinkle of salt or however you want.

IMG_6482

I’m no cook, I can tell you but this is a tasty and easy, not to mention cheap as chips meal and the eggs and spuds can easily be grown in a backyard garden. 🙂 You can also dice an onion to add in and most likely substitute in some sweet potato or even pumpkin but just be wary that the softer texture might change things.

And my too runny mix

And my too runny mix

I made these up for breakfast the other day then used the leftovers underneath leftover satay and rice for my lunch. Delicious. 🙂 Stupidly, I forgot to take photos of the finished product but it’s probably just as well as I’m no photographer (can you tell?) I guess if you want to see how they look you will have to make some yourself. 😉

5 thoughts on “An easy meal that I can grow all the ingredients for at home

  1. Eve says:

    These are really nice if you also grate some carrot in with the potato and onion, then serve them with a spicy plum sauce.

    • Oooo yum! Yes, any of those type of root vegetables would work well and any sauce is a good sauce on them although I must admit nostalgia yesterday as we ate ours with homemade tomato sauce but I still missed the taste of No Frills sauce on them from my childhood. Spicy plum sauce would be divine. 🙂

  2. narf77 says:

    They look like delicious happy memories is what they look like :). Kudos on creating something from scratch from your garden 🙂 (well…your future garden 😉 )

  3. Lynda says:

    Looks good to me, especially this carb junkie. Tom’s loving sweet potato at the moment so i might try a mix. Kids love anything fried.

  4. Linne says:

    Yum, indeed! Nice to see someone else who leaves the peels on . . . I can’t do it at present, but it’s my normal thing. These are also good with some tinned fish added in, and my Mum used to make them from leftover mashed potatoes. Also good . . . ~ Linne

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

