Gardening Australia provides the answers

I love Gardening Australia although I must admit I did go off watching it for quite a while after Pete Cundall left the show. He was such a character and so very inspiring.

Anyway, I’m catching up on last weeks episode on ABC iview and The second feature is about a guy who is harvesting an astounding amount of produce from his rental property. Yep, a rental! Β There are ideas he has here that I can’t wait to implement and so many fantastic ideas on growing your own food in a property that isn’t your own that would work if your landlord won’t permit you to dig up the lawn or plant out edibles. Even for those of us who are lucky enough to own our houses there are some incredible ideas here that are using repurposed items and creating incredibly waterwise gardens. In fact I’d say ingenious!

Here’s the preview.

//www.youtube.com/embed/

Pop over to ABC iview to watch the full episode! You’ve got 6 days before they cycle it on. πŸ˜€

15 thoughts on “Gardening Australia provides the answers

  1. narf77 says:

    Sunday is our day off. We get to do whatever we like on sundays and as I only have 23 blog posts in my RSS Feed Reader today and for the sake of keeping my pin fingers nimble I am going to head on over to watch it in about 30 minutes. Cheers for the share. I, too, stopped watching Gardening Australia but I must admit I DO love Costa. Who wouldn’t love a tiny Greek garden gnome that just won’t stand still?!!! Wish he was in my garden. My road verge could certainly use a tart up ;). Anyway, off to finish the RSS Feed and then head over to watch. I love people with get-up-and-go. They make me feel both awed and excited by the possibilities (and hoping that some of that enthusiasm wears off on the viewer πŸ˜‰ ). Have a great weekend ma’am. Hope the hoppers don’t bite.

    • Only 23?! is that 23 posts or 23’s posts? πŸ˜›
      Costa takes a little getting used to but I love him now too. He’s incredibly exuberant and as you say, a complete garden gnome! πŸ˜€ I will never think of him as anything but a gnome now!
      I hope you enjoyed watching as Roman showed off his ingenious gardening ideas. πŸ™‚

      • narf77 says:

        A brilliant man and to think, it’s someone elses property. I was a bad tenant and only did the bare minimum to keep the garden alive when I lived in rentals. It was so much “meh” my mum despaired of me and to think we ended up as horticulturalists ;). I only had 23 posts to read but already have 60 before tomorrow morning because I found 3 more amazing blogs and you get at least 10 posts from each of them…oh well…Steve is off shopping tomorrow so I have time to sit and read :).

        • I just love the community he has there too, pumpkins to share and fruit they swap back! Between his inspiring garden and a post I saw on planting pumpkins in hugelkultur beds, well I planted out about 40 butternut pumpkin seeds along my hugel and in the grape bed and olives bed. Lots to share if things go to plan. πŸ™‚ I have more pumpkin seeds yet to plant out and all I need except the soil for more hugels. πŸ™‚ I will be Cinderella this year or be damned. πŸ˜‰

          • narf77 says:

            Wish I lived closer…I LOVE pumpkin (live on the stuff πŸ˜‰ ). We noticed that most of the muscat grape cuttings we took from the vine in at my daughters home (we planted) have struck so we are going to festoon them all over Steve’s boat shed. Grapey happiness ahoy (along with homemade muscat wine πŸ™‚ ). Planted out 3 figs yesterday and we have a small olive tree, 3 carob trees, and a whole lot more to get out before the ground turns to rock again. I just found out that apricots are very hardy and do well in drought conditions apparently (from another blog that was talking about what was left growing in abandoned houses…roses, apricot and apple trees and privet hedges usually πŸ˜‰ ) so you might want to think about putting a few of your “score” on boundary lines? You will need to give them supplemental water for the first year but after that (so long as you mulch around them well) they should be fine πŸ™‚

            • Awesome galawesome! Thanks for the apricot hints! Noice with your grapes and figs – I still need to source me a fig to swipe a branch from. If the rain stops then maybe a walk around town tomorrow (no time today and too soggy right now). I want at east 1 fig tree for the chook pen – might be time to see if it’s too ate to move the tagasaste tree in there to another location to allow for figgy goodness to grow right in the pen. Need to make sure it’s not toxic to ruminants first though. (just read up and they will leave some of the leaves but will eat the rest of the tree to the ground :D)
              I thought about carob but I have bad memories of eating far too many carob buttons at Primary school and even writing this is churning my stomach. Bleuch! I think carob might be a no go here.
              As for pumpkins, I know you know how easily they grow but I know the possums are a problem. Is there somewhere that you could grown them outside your Fort Knox gardens that is Earl guarded? Pots on the deck maybe and festoon them along the railings?

              • narf77 says:

                Carob is an amazing fodder tree and incredibly drought tolerant, you might want to rethink having it as you can feed it to animals when needs must. I found a recipe for using fig leaves like vine leaves the other day (preserving them first) and you can use fig and hazelnut leaves like grape leaves for dolmades so I dare say they wouldn’t hurt animals if we can scarf them with impunity ;). The small furry buggers are VERY conspicuous by their absence at the moment. It would seem that Launceston City Council haven’t been dumping them (the ones that they catch in town) under the Batman Bridge of late…maybe I CAN grow pumpkins outside? (or maybe that’s the rabid meanderings of a MAD FOOL who should know better πŸ˜‰ )

  2. Jo says:

    I saw this last week Jessie. isn’t it amazing and inspiring? Abundance. The earth really does want to feed us!

  3. Lynda says:

    Love the styrofoam wicking bed, how clever.

  4. That fellow was on Gardening Australia was inspiring. He has such energy. What did you think of the tin of maggots idea? πŸ™‚

    • I am hoping to try it! Brilliant idea and I love the “state of the art” design too. πŸ™‚ I’ve read about people who raise a crop of maggots and a rop of mealy worms to feed their chooks. Ha to vegetarian chooks! Heck, mine eat mice!

  5. Further, this guy showed the benefit of ‘just doing it’. I see stacks of similar apartment blocks around where I live and observe the vacant space and how the sun falls on it. I’ve been pondering ideas on how I can put these spaces to good use. Perhaps I should seed bomb ’em? Hand the tenants a copy of something on topic? Contact the stratas and volunteer my time?

    • He does! I love that he just gets in and does it. Sure, if they have to move they’d have to start again but I get the feeling that wouldn’t be a major hardship. Many of his crops he can take with him and the rest he would just start again. πŸ™‚
      One of my favourite local(ish) nurseries sells many heritage varieties (and non-heritage) of fruit trees and he has this glorious orchard of trees, all in pots! Rows of them, some fruiting (saw a medlar and some olives in fruit) and just all lined up there waiting to be sold. πŸ™‚ You can grow most things in pots I believe.
      As for seed bombing your local vacant lots, why not! Pumpkins, zucchinis, tomatoes and then go and harvest in the Autumn. πŸ˜€

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

