In the year 2525

In the year 2525…

16 thoughts on “In the year 2525

  1. Sue says:

    Ive always loved that song…
    Listening to it now and actually paying attention to the words makes me choke up…

    • This song used to frighten me as a child when first I heard it. I hadn’t thought of it in years until I made a comment to my husband that made me think of it. Now it makes me sad and angry. Particularly the last lines…
      “Now it’s been 10,000 years…” We won’t last that long! Most of what they sang about has happened in the 45 years since the song was released. 😦

  2. Linne says:

    I was more worried about atomic war back then (nuclear bombs were still to come). It’s songs like this and the truth they told that made so many of us tune in and drop out. People forget the initial reasons and think it was all fashion and (yucchhhh Austin Powers sort of stuff). It wasn’t! Thanks for the share. I know the song, of course, but never knew who sang it and never saw them before, either. What happens when you grow up without tv in the house 🙂

    I think some of us WILL survive, but not all . . . too many city people with no skills and no interest in acquiring them. Things are gonna change, that’s for sure . . .

    I’ve been re-reading the link you posted about ‘good’ investing and the links that led to; I DO think there is hope, Jess, and you are part of why. Keep on Kulturin’, my friend.

    • I think we will survive too. Many won’t and long term our population may fall (not a bad thing) but whether we all make it or not there are so many things to change I just don’t know how many will get their heads around it.

      I think music and films, despite being mired right in the middle of the consumer situation, are a powerful medium that can and have affected many people, leading them in the right direction. Films like Day after Tomorrow might be unrealistic Hollywood moneymaking blockbusters but that film made a big impact on my and our green lifestyle. others like An Inconvenient Truth, Chasing Ice and more help to spread the word of what is really going on.
      In the year 2525 probably had an influence on me when I heard it in my teens (early 90’s) but I can imagine when it came out before test tube babies, before the internet, before so many things, the impact it would have had would have made a huge impact on many.

  3. Linne says:

    I forgot to add: don’t waste time on sadness; the one certain thing in this world is that we all die; that isn’t important; what’s important is the journey; what we do with it and along the way . . . so be aware, but don’t let it bring you down. Have joy that you are a part of a much-needed change, where you are and world-wide. Smile and plant more seeds 🙂

  4. narf77 says:

    Wonderful sentiments Linne 🙂 I am with you. We all die, it’s how we live that matters 🙂

    • I hope to live a life that impacts little on the environment (a lot more work to undo the damage done and get the current damage down to manageable or negligible levels yet but getting there) and leaves a legacy of self sufficiency behind to protect and feed my children and grandchildren.

      • foodnstuff says:

        It’s great to see young people with those ideals. All the oldies of my generation are so ignorant and selfish, and our generation (baby boomers) are the ones who have caused most of the problems

      • narf77 says:

        That’s all we can hope to do Jess. We can’t sit in sackcloth feeling terrible because then nothing will get done. At least we are trying to repair a little of the damage and more and more of us are taking up the cause. It’s a growing movement and as petrochemical companies start to show us that we can’t ignore this any more (they are leaving the petrol ship like rats), we need to show everyone else how to do this with a united force. That’s what makes this blogging thing so powerful. We can all link up and share what we know AND show other people how :). Positive change, not weeping in the ashes, that’s the narf7 way! 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing this. I always loved it but have not heard it for years. I just read Big Brother, it was such an ugly read I didn’t quite finish it. Call me an eternal optimist but I believe we are survivors, we are still in early days of MAN and in his evolution he will put things to rights as time goes on, even if things get bad before they get right. My husband doesn’t believe me so two trains of thought in this household.

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

