Date night

The time has come for a pregnancy. πŸ™‚ No, not for me, for Anna! πŸ˜€

Miss Anna was loaded up into a borrowed trailer (thanks Cam) and then she and I drove up to Trentham to her previous owners where Anna was reintroduced to her old herd. After a headache inducing head slam from her old stable-mate and a cuddle from her beautiful daughter Makka Pakka decided he’d had enough of the niceties and that it was time that he was receiving the attention. Or more to the point that Anna should be receiving his attentions.

Mmm Lucerne! This is how she stood for the full 40 minute trip.

Mmm Lucerne! This is how she stood for the full 40 minute trip.

Anna wasn’t too interested but neither was she disinterested. Goats come into heat between ever 18 and 25 days from what I’ve read and remain in heat from between 3 hours and 3 days. Anna doesn’t announce being in heat very loudly. Some does will bleat their heads off, others get the jitters and there are sometimes physical signs as well. Anna seems to get a bit mippy ever so often. What’s mippy? Well Anna doesn’t bleat but she does make the occasional very quiet “mip” on occasion and so I coin the word mippy. πŸ˜€

Hello Makka Pakka

Hello Makka Pakka

Anna was mippy yesterday. She may well have been mippy for other reasons but I’ve been meaning to get her bred and so a phone call later I had her date set up. Another phone call and a trip less than 4kms up the road and I had the stretch limo. A quick lick with the brush and Anna was ready for her date. πŸ™‚

Catch me if you can

Catch me if you can

Due to our uncertainty about her heat cycle we’ve arranged for Anna to stay up at the holiday resort until either they are seen doing the do or for 3 weeks which allows for a full heat cycle.

The rest of the crew coming to say hello

The rest of the crew coming to say hello, Anna’s daughter the lovely British Alpine doe in the background

Anna is looking lovely and plump and sleek right now so we know she will survive well on just forage (she could do with a bit of a diet πŸ˜‰ ) and if her plumpness is actually pregnancy (she did have a naughty night inΒ planned with William some time back although we saw no signs of any action) then we shall have Toggenburg cross British Alpine kids in about 6 weeks but if not she may well come into heat again sooner and be birthing British Alpine cross Boer kids for us in mid June. I can’t wait until her milk comes in. πŸ˜€

He's hopeful

He’s hopeful but her tail is down. Sorry Makka Pakka

In the meantime, Pandora is lording it over the lambs who will stay with her until Miss Anna is back. I miss my lovely nanny goat already.

14 thoughts on “Date night

  1. Sharon says:

    Aw she is just beautiful, good luck I hope she has a lovely time

  2. Lynda says:

    What a leading sentence….. it certainly got me clicking fast but i should have known with your sense of humour. I must say, she is looking rather plumper than the last time i saw her. Well done. Im looking forward to goat milk cheese and soap. You are going to have your hands full if you get your dream fulfilled.

    • I already have them full! πŸ˜‰ I very much look forward to being able to make cheese that is 100% mine, well, 99.9% as I plan to use purchased rennet and cheese and cultures etc, despite having the thistles handy from which to make my own rennet but that’s a little too rabid even for me. πŸ˜‰
      I shall invite you up for my warm lamb salad with goats milk cheese then. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh, and Martin would have kittens himself if I should ask him for another baby for me right now. Another pregnancy might just be more than even crazy old me could take on right now anyway. πŸ˜‰

  3. narf77 says:

    Fingers crossed for good results πŸ™‚

  4. Tiffany says:

    Good luck Anna! πŸ™‚ She looks stunning!

  5. Linne says:

    Anna is looking so good now; I remember when you first got her . . . good job! What fun, having kids (goat) and milk, too. And cheese, etc.

    You are a big tease, with that headline . . . I bet everyone thought of someone besides Anna for the first few seconds. πŸ˜‰

    Looking forward to your confirmation that she’s ‘caught’.

    • He he he, my evil plan worked! πŸ˜‰
      Anna IS looking good although you may not have thought so last week. She was fat and had hair falling out everywhere and severe dandruff and looked simply awful. Now she’s sleek and fat as she’s finally finished moulting. πŸ™‚
      I too look forward to the confirmation that she’s caught too. The people that have her, she is a vet nurse and she’ll let me know once the deed has been seen to be done. Either that or we pick her up in 3 weeks and hope they decided on privacy. πŸ™‚

  6. yes, goats milk! what great food! (a little envious) let’s see…gestation is what ? 60 or so days? so she could have them soon?
    love your story and photos!!

    • Goats gestate for 150 days or 5 months so if William got her pregnant back on her first date then she is due in a month. We don’t believe he did though so we’re looking to May/June. πŸ™‚

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

