We survived without further loss

Just a quick post to say we made it through the last of the 40°C days with a peak of 39°C here at our place, both inside and out. The cool change wasn’t much to brag about until this morning when I had the pleasure of saying I felt cold! 😀 It made it to 44°C up in town though (we’re in quite a little gully here).

Our animals made it through unscathed except for hating me for hosing them down. Both Anna and Pandora tolerated it as long as I didn’t spray their faces but I had to chase the chooks down to soak them sufficiently. I thought we were going to lose a few more given their state when I went out to hose them off. Lying down, wings open and panting. Thankfully, we haven’t.

It’s now time to count the cost in terms of the gardens although it seems, aside from some cuttings of geranium, 1 watermelon seedling, several potted tomatoes and my little seed grown peach tree 😦 in the first few days, we’ve not lost anything else. Thankfully. In fact, much of the garden seems to be thriving. We only watered the hugelkultur beds 3 times all up. Hugels are the way to go for raised water-wise gardens for sure! 😀

I hope everyone else has survived. It’s time for thinking caps on to work out how to plan for coping and indeed thriving in future heatwaves. They are becoming the new norm for sure. 😦

12 thoughts on “We survived without further loss

  1. The plants here have been getting slow trickling watering for deep penetration under their leaf areas every few days and are coming through fine but it is definitely the time to cease planting and move into caretaker mode this month. I predict a lot of home gardeners will be experiencing blossom end rot this year as it is too easy in these conditions for plants to be inconsistently watered. I think a lot of fruit trees will also compromise their crops and drop fruit in order to survive the conditions. Prices will rise in the shops too. Good luck over the next couple of weeks.

  2. Gavin Webber says:

    Glad you made it out the other side okay Jessie. The rain last night was nothing to write home about, with only 0.5mm recorded in my gauge.

    I think fruit and veg will get very expensive in the next few weeks as the real toll is counted.

    Gav x

    • The rain was nothing to write home about here either. It spat heavy drops for all of about 2 minutes and then that was that. The cool wasn’t evident until around 3am either. 😦 Still, it’s cooled right down now at least. I’m enjoying being cold.
      The true price indeed. Not just the extra electric bills. We need to take in to account all the crispied lawn too. 😉 In all seriousness, I hate to think the price peaches and nectarines will be, if the trees indeed keep their fruit at all. Time to reconsider growing bananas perhaps? 😦

  3. Lynda says:

    Lucky you are in that little valley. I was so worried about all your plants being so young. I can just imagine you running around with the hose after the chooks. Maybe a mister on the end of the hose with a wide angle. Tilly’s had lots of fun running through the hose as ive watered. I need to get her a little swimming pool. The shell finally died, or did it, i cant remember, probably gave it away in my decluttering rampage. See you soon Jess.

  4. narf77 says:

    Agreed about the hugels. They certainly played their part here retaining moisture. Not that we got as hot as you but 38C on Wednesday for Tassie was bad enough! Hopefully that’s the end and we won’t have any more nasty heat like that but at least the garden went nuts here so I guess that is something 🙂

  5. Tiffany says:

    i used my fabric stash & tablecloth to cover my veggie patch and berries and they all did well except the blueberry and jostaberry.. they are a bit crispy! I would have lost all my plants otherwise the soil in my raised beds is just too sandy!

  6. Linne says:

    I think it might help to cover even some of the fruit trees wth sheets and then spray them; the evaporation can help bring down temps. I’d take them off in the late evening, probably, to make sure of not nurturing moulds . . . I wonder if hanging wet sheets in the chook sheds and keeping the birds inside would help? You might need to try it without the birds and use a thermometer to check how much cooler it actually gets.

    Glad you all made it through, for the most part, anyway. Hang in there!

  7. We’ve had no rain still yet & my poor veggies are frazzled, although I tried watering late at night when a touch cooler (still over 30 some nights!). I think I may have lost the Choko, but there is a glimmer of hope with a fresh green leaf sprouting at the bottom. Most of the beans gone, blooms off the lemon & most leaves gone. The chilli’s & basil however are thriving. Will bandicoot the spuds again as you told me & hope they are doing ok underground. Glad all your brood survived & hope the veggies recover.

    • A lot of people seem to have lost their beans. Mine were so late in the planting I’ve lost none. Frost may get them yet though.
      Bugger re: choko. I’ll be getting some to sprout and plant out for next summers shade but at least they’re perennial and you won’t have lost it for good. They grow fast enough to maybe have a chance of something from them this year?

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

