Reimagining Investment for the Whole Human

Who are we? Novelty, tradition, self or other. It’s been a while since a post spoke so deeply to my heart as this one. I can’t even begin to process the thoughts in my heart and head but I know this has spoken very very deeply within and that this will change me on a profound level. I urge you to watch this.

Damn the Matrix

Some time ago, I posted a link to Tim Jackson’s “Big Ideas” podcast from the ABC’s RN, titled “Prosperity without growth”.  I still listen to this often in my car….. it’s a brilliant talk.

Because I see no other way to achieve “Prosperity without growth” without cancelling debts, I started searching for more recent talks by Tim Jackson, and found this piece below.  It doesn’t quite say “cancel all debts”, it’s like everyone’s scared of saying the words……. but this comes close.  Enjoy.

View original post

13 thoughts on “Reimagining Investment for the Whole Human

  1. narf77 says:

    Living a debt free simple life is the ultimate hope for the world. Getting out of the middle mens pockets and back into the black, growing your own food, building simple small structures from natural materials and not going so far out on a limb that you could find yourself ruined by next week if there was a financial collapse and your debts were called in. People just don’t think about it…it is easier to just not think about it and keep shoving things onto that credit card…

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Lump-in-the-throat stuff, wasn’t it? We are all we have. We’re a group species. We can’t go it alone. I only hope those of us who don’t see it wake up before it’s too late.

  3. Linne says:

    Jess, that was great! Thanks for the share; I’d not likely have seen it otherwise. I’ve never understood how our culture has come to worship ‘growth’ so much. To me, unlimited growth is the definition of a cancer cell; it grows as much as possible, no matter the consequence to the rest of the body’s cells. And then it kills the host . . . We do need to re-imagine and re-invent ‘prosperity’, sustainability and whole-person nurturing and development, don’t we? ~ Linne

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

