Forced offline

I’m going to be offline. For how long is anybody’s guess. Actually, it’s in the hands of my wonderfully splendid and amazing husband (a little sucking up here can’t hurt right? πŸ˜‰ ).


Sadly this afternoon, about an hour ago, my poor old battered laptop died. Well in truth it has a totally broken screen. It’s been dropped one too many times. Apparently laptops don’t respond too well to being dropped onto tile floors by little people accidentally bumping precariously balanced laptops. 😦 Who woulda thunk it.

Truth be told, it’s been discussed this week about upgrading my old laptop. Not for the sake of upgrading it either. I hate changing machines. 😦 Sadly though the screen surround is missing the little hooks that hold the screen in place, one of the 3 USB ports doesn’t work unless the cable is bent into precisely the right position (I never use it), the screen has the middle 3rd that is somewhat damaged due to an exploding glass of coffee (used the glass when the coffee cups were all dirty), and most recently, the mouse pad keys got damaged under my rocking chair (again thanks to small people) and no longer work. This particular laptop is about 4 years old so although not exactly ancient it is, technologically at least, rather dated (not that this fact bothers me one iota).

The plan until this afternoon had been to source the same model laptop on eBay and mix and match working parts but sadly, aside from the info stored on my current laptop, the only piece of it that was working in any capacity was the screen. Not no more. 😦

So it’s off to some sort of technology store for this lil hippy. 😦 I can’t think of anything less fun to be very honest. Shopping. Yuk!

The only bright sides I can see coming from this are that I might well get a machine with a little more storage capacity and more importantly, one that is more energy efficient. πŸ™‚

I love my old Dell machine but the poor thing has truly bitten the dust this time. Part of me still wonders if we should simply buy a replacement screen, mousepad buttons, screen surround, keyboard (did I mention half the keys don’t work at any given time which means some serious reading and re-reading of blog posts and emails) but I think in the long run it makes more sense to upgrade and not just financially.

I’m posting this from my phone and then I will be removing the app from my phone. I removed the app some time ago so that I wasn’t always checking for comments and replies and I don’t intend to get reconnected to that now. I guess I’ll see you all on the flip side of new laptop-ville.

Stay cool hippies and have a splendid Easter. πŸ™‚ May the Easter bunny bring you all plenty of organic fair trade chocolate goodness to enjoy. πŸ˜€

20140416-172434.jpg

10 thoughts on “Forced offline

  1. Lynda says:

    Oh No, i cant let this happen. I have a laptop i dont use very often. You could borrow in the interim.

    • Thank you my friend but we are planning a trip, possibly this weekend to see what is on the market. I’ve my phone and iPad in the meantime and honestly, the break from a laptop won’t hurt me or the kids at all. πŸ™‚

      • Lynda says:

        On second thoughts ive re-read your post and im not sure that your house is the safest place for a borrowed computer. Plenty on mishaps. LOL but that’s life with children though im not sure you can blame all of that on them.

  2. Linda says:

    Ooooh, I am feeling for you.

  3. Oh dear! I always leave my laptop on the arm of the chair and it’s been knocked off several times, one day will be it’s last! A new laptop will be nice when you get the hang of it πŸ™‚

  4. narf77 says:

    Might be a good idea to get a nice padded laptop bag to go with the new one…just sayin’ πŸ˜‰ See you on the flip side ma’am πŸ™‚

  5. Linne says:

    Hope this is resolved soon, Jess. But enjoy your ‘time off’ and have a Happy Easter, all of you. ~ Linne

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

