Pathological consumption

quarteracrelifestyle

A great article on Whole Larder Love I found really interesting and other’s might (Thinking of you Jess). Rowan has a great blog on living off the land. The writer here discusses the behaviour of novelty gift buying for the people who already have “everything”. My thoughts are what a difference it would make if those loved ones were bought something from local artists or producers instead – handmade soap, chutney or even a basket of nice breads etc would be preferable to me that any “novelty item.

By George Monbiot, published in the Guardian 11 December 2012

There’s nothing they need, nothing they don’t own already, nothing they even want. So you buy them a solar-powered waving queen; a belly button brush; a silver-plated ice cream tub holder; a “hilarious” inflatable zimmer frame; a confection of plastic and electronics called Terry the Swearing Turtle; or – and somehow I…

View original post 216 more words

4 thoughts on “Pathological consumption

  1. narf77 says:

    Read half of it on Quarter Acre Lifestyle (“Q” is before “R” 😉 ) and the rest on the actual site. Sometimes being poor takes the madness out of consumption. If you don’t have the money to spend you CAN’T buy the crap.

  2. narf77 says:

    (whether you want to or not…)

  3. Linne says:

    So true, Narfie! And being poor often makes us learn to make, mend and care for things well (not to mention saving big balls of twine and rubber bands . . . ’cause you never know . . .)

    I’ll pass on the solar-powered waving whatevers and the sports and tv star bobble-heads, too.

    We need more dumpster-divers, salvagers, fixer-uppers, and all-round creative people, in my not-so-humble opinion . . .

    As for people who have ‘everything’ (and have to dust it . . . hahaha); why not buy a goat for a poor family and do it in their name? Or donate baby items or quilts to a local charity, also in their name? Or maybe donate the cost of Christmas dinner to a local food bank . . . there are lots of options, really. And if the recipient doesn’t like it, well, they can buy their own junk . . . heartless, I know . . . 😉

    • For a few Christmases a couple of years back, my Mum decided that her kids all had enough stuff and she couldn’t buy anything for us so she brought us each an Oxfam card or 2. My cards bought English lessons for a 3rd world town and chickens for a family or tribe. One of my all time favourite Christmas gifts I think. 🙂
      As for dumpster diving, bring it on! If I had the courage I’d be in there asking everyone but I have scrounged plenty of stuff from the local transfer station. 😀

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

