Rake Ballan Clean

Ballan is a lovely town. It has streets lined with many deciduous trees. From my internet searching they appear to be Ash and Pin Oak and, given that it is autumn, they are dropping their glorious red, yellow and brown leaves all over the place. 

Now I’m not one to consider leaf litter under trees to be unsightly. In fact I tend more towards the thinking that fallen leaves look fabulous! Just how nature intended. 🙂 I kind of like how they do their level best to smother out mono crops of lawn too but hey, I tend towards thinking like that. 😉

However, not everyone thinks the same and so, in the interests of a community service, a friend and I have organised to meet up as some ridiculous time SUNDAY morning to rake Ballan clean of all those horrid leaves falling down and leaving a mess. 😉

 

Some of last years mess we cleaned up.

Some of last years “mess” we cleaned up.

What we intend to do with those leaves is dispose of them in a manner that is environmentally conscious and responsible. We plan to compost them! 😀

Ok, I think I’ve just outed myself. No community service intended here and with permaculture thinking the community service would be to leave them to return to the soil where they fall but as not everyone is a permie I suspect those leaves may be bagged up or burned or (hopefully) composted in back gardens but as I am in need of lots of compost and Ballan has lots of leaves… 😉

I'll be without my little helpers this year.

I’ll be without my little helpers this year.

The main street of Ballan is lined with these lovely trees and the foot paths and parking bays are littered with these leaves. Now since bitumen doesn’t compost anything and the leaves are not doing any good, we intend to make sure they are able to return to the soil and feed the worms. So, if you are local and not doing anything SUNDAY morning around 7am then feel free to come and join us. We’re meeting outside Springfields Garage and it’s BYO whatever you need. Bags, trailer, rake, leaf picky up gloves (for the bug phobic amongst us 😉 ), gardening gloves and coffee. Lots of coffee. Ok, so that’s MY list of what to bring but just as an idea. 😉

No need to RSVP. If you want to come, be there bright and early. If not, catch some extra zzz’s for me please.

PLEASE NOTE THE EDIT – IT’S SUNDAY MORNING. If you come tomorrow (Saturday) you might be on your own. 😉

14 thoughts on “Rake Ballan Clean

  1. anthonypickering says:

    Yep been grabbing a boot load of them each day this week from near my children’s childcare centre been dumping them on the food forest. and will raid again tomorrow for my biggest compost heap.

    Waste not want not 🙂

    • Excellent work! I’ve just started 2 new compost baskets (using wire) with 3 wheelbarrow loads of goat manure straw bedding which I hope to to fill up Sunday with leaves. I will need a LOT of compost in the coming months. 😉

  2. Lynda says:

    Sounds like fun. Thinking thinking…….

  3. foodnstuff says:

    Oh, I’d love to be there, but Ballan is like the other side of the world to me 😦

    I love it that there are people who think fallen leaves are a resource and not a mess. Thinking outside the confined, destructive culture of civilisation. Go, girl.

    Enjoy your leaves!

    • I rang a friend yesterday and offered her some of our spent goat bedding. It is stinky and full of urine and manure and rotting straw. It was so nice to know someone was as excited by this resource as I am and I would have loved to be a fly on the wall to see what her fellow commuters thought about our conversation about manure. 😉
      Leaves are such a wonderful resource and it’s time the world stopped seeing them as a problem.

  4. foodnstuff says:

    Reblogged this on Foodnstuff and commented:
    Just had to share this. Rabidlittlehippy is one of my own kind.

  5. kayepea says:

    Used to do this 25-30 years ago when I was a suburbanite and bury them directly in trenches in my sandy-soil garden along with the kitchen scraps. Boy did that make a difference! Plants grew much stronger, the soil became much more water-holding and saved those lovely liquid amber leaves from being burnt in the gutter (shock horror to me) by the two neighbours who owned the trees…..and then they cut down these three lovely trees! They were too messy! 😦

    • Oh how sad! Even with their very own mess cleaner upper. 😦 Yes, leaves will definitely improve the water holding capacity of soil. I could do with some of your sandy soil to mix into my very heavy clay soil here though. 🙂

  6. fergie51 says:

    We have a massive pin oak in our front yard. It actually has a heritage overlay on it! We adore it, but so many people that walk past get quite abusive and aggressive about the ‘mess’ it makes. We also have a huge oak tree out the back, between the two of these trees I have a few collection points strategically located, drive all the leaves into them with a blower, run the mower over them and then put into leaf mood tubes I’ve made. Makes great soil conditioner! I would jump at a load of spent goat bedding. Nothing wrong with a good dose of poo & wee in the compost!

  7. It’s pretty easy as long as you aren’t reversing. I was scared driving with the trailer first time but it really is no different except for parking or reversing. 🙂 Just swing a little wider on corners. 😀

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

