Photos from the weekends hard work

Here’s some photos from the work in the veggie garden over the weekend. 🙂

The back raised bed here is no more, as is much of the grass. All those yellow broccoli flowers were eaten by Jas and Egga or the chooks and goats. Good thing we're not milking Anna right now as broccoli flavoured milk doesn't appeal to me very much.

The long bed that was there is now no more.

Standing at the veggie garden gate. The long bed that was there is now no more.

Standing at the veggie garden gate.

The corrugated iron edges from the long garden bed have been used to create the corner bed at the top of the photo.

The removed bed is now in the corner here. Once the chooks have done their work the wire will be removed and reo mesh upcycled into trellis for the grapes I'm planting here. They will in turn shade the rest of the bed from the early afternoon sun onwards, providing a micro-climate. Well, that's the plan.

The removed bed is now in the corner here.

Once the chooks have finished their work in the upper terrace,the wire will be removed and reo mesh upcycled into trellis for the grapes I’m planning to plant here. I want my veggie garden to be a mix of annual veggies and fruits and perennials like berries and grapes. They will provide shade and beauty and help create micro-climates. Well, that’s the plan anyway. Grape leaves will also hopefully provide shade for the goats and hens too as I will train them over the top of the chook pen. A choko can also add its large leaves to the shading mix too.

Orik's personal race track. He loves doing laps around the garden bed! The area where the bench now sits has had its tyres ripped out, the soil moved into the garden bed and tiles are down now. Todays work with Jas and Eggra as assistants.

Orik’s personal race track. He loves doing laps around the garden bed!

The area where the bench now sits has had its tyres ripped out, the soil moved into the garden bed and tiles are down now. Today’s work with Jas and Eggra as assistants. 🙂 I have 1 tyre to move now and then the northern fenceline is finished, in the lower terrace anyway. Stay tuned for more updates as they happen. 😀

15 thoughts on “Photos from the weekends hard work

  1. Leigh says:

    Your garden looks fantastic! Also looks as though it’s rained recently and I envy that. The corrugated iron is very clever. We couldn’t afford to make raised beds, so I constantly battle keeping weeds out of my beds. Another plus for metal is it won’t rot away.

    • Thanks Leigh. Yes, we’ve had gale force winds and sideways rain on and off all day today. We’re also getting a lot of dew overnight which means even without an awful lot of rain, the gardens are being nicely watered by the heavy dews. It will freeze tonight though as it’s already down to 4.4C and it’s only 8pm (we don’t get snow here so 4.4C is very cold for us).
      I’m moving my raised beds out and slowly converting the whole veggie patch to arable land, rather than limited space in raised beds. Still, the raised beds will be used elsewhere. Our metal was cheap as it was from an old shed an uncle pulled down. He sold us the sheets for $1 per 7’x3′ piece. We cut them in half lengthwise and then some in half again, using long lengths and short lengths to create 7’x3.5’x1.5′ beds. They cost a mint to fill with soil though although we’ve used straw and corn cobs and branches like in hugels to add in the bottoms. Still, I want a LOT more growing space and a set up that is beautiful, mixed with perennials and flowers and that also shades our animals in their pens and more. It’s coming together really nicely.
      The iron mightn’t rot but this stuff has got a little rust.Still, they last at least as long as red gum sleepers do. 🙂

  2. Lynda says:

    Wow, that’s looking so much better and organised which appeals to my anal accountants nature. Well Done. Your soil is looking a good colour. I love the idea of the grapes hanging over the top of the chooks and them eyeing them off unable to get up there. Sweet torture. I wouldn’t be surprised if the goats found a way though. Chokos, let em have em i say.

    • What is with you and Narf dissing the humble choko. What did it ever do to you! I love them! Steamed with apinch of salt. 🙂 Goat fodder, chook fodder, shade for all and sundry and a great food with which to pad out other foods. Apple and choko pie? The choko will taste like apple!
      The soil is a nice combination of our nasty thick clay and the crappy bought in compost with little substance and much dust. I need to check the ph but it looks almost good enough to eat.
      And yes, it all appeals to me and my OCD nature too. 😉

  3. foodnstuff says:

    It’s looking good. Ultimately you’re creating a food forest, right? Obviously you don’t have to contend with wild rabbits. What bliss!
    I have just been given a choko which is just starting to sprout. Will look forward to trying them and won’t take any notice of narf 😉

    • Definitely ignore Narf and Lynda when it comes to chokos. They taste like nothing anyway. I love them steamed with a sprinkle of salt. They taste like salt, have the texture of raw firm pear perhaps? They are a prolific bearer every couple of years (low yield year, high yield year then feed a small country yield year 😉 ), a superb large area shade plant (I’m planning to grow one over my green house and another over my chook/goat pen) and one of those reliable perennial food sources.
      We are planning the food forest but that’s out the front. The back is a combination annual and perennial garden. I guess I’m modelling it somewhat like those large manor house walled gardens where they have berries and fruit trees and annual veggies too. Kind of anyway. 🙂
      And yes, we do have a few animals around but they seem to be causing few problems. They seem wary of the cats being out at night (when we can’t find them to bring them in 😦 ) I am guessing. There is also a possum and her baby across the creek and of course the demolition crew of magpies. We also have several crows around but seem to prefer our neighbours eggs over ours (thankfully). Lots going on animal-wise but we have been very lucky so far.

  4. Michael says:

    I’m getting tired just looking at all that work:)

  5. Sue says:

    Look great, I am finding it very hard to get out there much in this freezing weather! Do you grow Potatoes and if so in what sort of containment?

    • Hi Sue, I have grown spuds before and in all sorts of places. I’ve bunged them in the garden and I’m seeing the evidence of both climate change and insufficient harvesting with lots of self sown plants popping up hither and yon mid winter. 🙂 This spring I am planning to plant out a large section of the veggie patch that is currently under chook cultivation. I’ve sheet mulched it all, spread out old rotting hay, burned hay, manure and lake weed over it all and then last week I sectioned it off for the chooks to turn over, fertilise and generally cultivate it for me. They’ve done a much better job in only a week or two than I could have ever imagined! In October I will plant out rows of spuds and lay the paths between (using old roof tiles) and we will be off and running. 🙂
      Last year I grew some in beds and also some in pots. The pots were a little disappointing but if nothing else I have a heap of perfect sized seed potatoes to plant out. They’re all chitting away merrily in my pantry as we speak! Some will be potted up again (they won’t last until spring) and kept in a frost free place until November. 🙂

  6. narf77 says:

    My MY you have been a most industrious and Rabid little Hippy! While I have been holed up in enforced slavetude to Adobe Illustrator and all of it’s foibles, you have been out in the real world non-procrastinating and actually doing something…in the middle of winter…(Mad woman! 😉 ). Those tiles look good down in between the garden beds. Much better than getting (and tracking) muddy feet all over the place.

    So where’s that promised rain that you were going to send over eh? I think you have been hogging it a bit Ms Hippy…time to hand it over! Choko’s are like tofu…they suck up whatever sauce etc. that you put on them. I am willing to give them another go but they have to be willing to work with me ;).

    Guess who just decided to donate a day to eliminating her RSS Feed Reader 😉 Have a good weekend doing things in that fecund place you call a garden 🙂

    • Maybe this means I need to get on and read YOUR last post then hey. 😉
      The tiles work well and are very easily moved too so nothing is permanent. They are a little rocky and imperfect hut hey, they work, they’re free and I have hundreds of them that NEED moving to clear the way for tree removal and orchard planting. 🙂

      • narf77 says:

        I really like how those tiles look, very rustic and “right” in a permie garden and an excellent reuse of what was rubbish that needed dealing with. Is Miss Anna due this weekend? Here’s hoping it’s nice and mild and everything goes really easily and well 🙂

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

