Fully recovered

I’ve been pretty quiet in the blogosphere and in real life too. Winter has hit me hard this year for some reason so I’ve curled up in a little ball in front of the heater, done my best to manage construction works around here, eaten a whole heap of all the wrong foods and avoided changing the batteries in the scales to find out just how much of said wrong foods I’ve eaten. ๐Ÿ˜‰ At the moment I’m at the “I can face it but not sure I want to change it” stage of it all but as Spring arrives I am being a very proactive not so little hippy and getting my seeds ready to plant in the garden. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve had a few projects planned for the winter and I will write more about others soon but today I wanted to tell you that we are fully recovered. I spent yesterday focussing on recovering and thanks to the kids being angels and playing cushion jump all afternoon I was indeed able to focus on recovering.

The couches that is! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Nanna read stories are the best! I think she read about 8.

You can see the old couch covers here.

A few years ago we replaced our VERY old reclining chairs and falling apart faux leather futon sofa with a big and wonderful couch set but when we moved up here we found that despite how much we loved the couches they were simply too big for our much smaller living space. We pulled them apart and have tried to reuse what we can of the timber frames etc. The cushions are in our spare room awaiting new covers to be used on our out-door setting we purchased a while back. We bought a lovely small wicker couch and lounge off eBay for the princely sum of $35 and have loved it, despite its rather threadbare cushion covers but those threadbare covers tore a few months back. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We’ve worked around that with keeping the rips facingย down but something had to be done. I hit up eBay again the other week and found some delicious dark chocolate upholstery corduroy of which I purchased and had delivered a length and yesterday the knitting bug wore off and the sewing but bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

It's much darker than it appears in the photo. A very deep delicious cocoa colour.

It’s a much darker brown than it appears in the photo. A very deep delicious cocoa colour.

The first thing I needed was a pattern. Off came the old covers and I grabbed 3 of those covers to pull apart for pattern pieces. Once unpicked and put aside I took the perfectly working zips out of all the covers then set to work with the fabric. Orik was happily entertained playing a game on our tablet (a life saver when we need some peace although not quiet) and Jasper and Allegra were running up and down the hall throwing themselves onto the couch cushions stacked up there.

Pile them up

Pile them up

Jump all over them.

Jump all over them

Realise Mummy has her camera

Realise Mummy caught it all on camera.

Pin on pattern piece, cut around, put aside. Repeat. I cut out a total of 18 pieces to cover the 6 cushions.

Fabric laid out, 2 of the pattern pieces ready and a bucket of pins too. I have no idea what the paint roller was for but thankfully all the paint on it is old and long dried.

Fabric laid out, 2 of the pattern pieces ready and a bucket of pins too. I have no idea what the paint roller was for but thankfully all the paint on it is old and long dried.

I learned something a little surprising today. Irons don't cost much to run when they are at temperature. According to this little gizmo, $0.98 per year

I learned something a little surprising today. Irons don’t cost much to run when they are at temperature. According to this little gizmo, $0.98 per year…

But they cost a little bit more when they are heating up again (which mine did after every patch of ironing I did). Yes, that says $2026.00 per year.

But they cost a little bit more when they are heating up again (which mine did after every patch of ironing I did). Yes, that says $2026.00 per year.

Dinner interrupted me at this point but once the kids were in bed I hit up the sewing. Covers sewn together, zips in, covers on. Late night. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Not so good a late night as an early start is not a fun prospect but when I crawled into bed at 12:30am last night, I had 2 fully recovered couches and they look pretty schmick if you ask me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Mark the pieces as you unpic them and how many you need to cut. Just in case. I did the same on the zippers.

Mark the pieces as you unpick them and how many you need to cut. Just in case. I did the same on the zippers.

Pinning the pieces together.

Pinning the pieces together.

Sewing the seams together. Thankfully, no need to overlock (serge) or zig zag the seams.

Sewing the seams together. Thankfully, no need to overlock (serge) or zig zag the seams.

My trusty Elna SU. My mum bought hers to sew her wedding dress back in 1974 (my folks got married in 1975) and it only died last year. I bought mine off eBay and love it to pieces.

My trusty Elna SU. My mum bought hers to sew her wedding dress back in 1974 (my folks got married in 1975) and it only died last year. I bought mine off eBay and love it to pieces.

The finished product. I bought the buttons to sew throught he cushions but decidedin the end I liked the cushions as is.

The finished product. I purchased someย buttons to sew through the cushions but decided in the end I liked the cushions as is.

Just as comfy as before but oh so much nicer and without holes for little people to play with.

Just as comfy as before but oh so much nicer and without holes for little people to play with.

I have severalย metres of fabric left which I will use to recover the cushions on my rocking chair to match the couches. The fabric was a set amountย for sale. There will be enough left to put a few metres away if ever it is needed. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m really stoked with how well they’ve turned out and for $80 for the fabric including a delivery fee, the initial $35 plus fuel to pick them up for the couches, some time and a little electricity I consider that money very well spent. ๐Ÿ˜€

18 thoughts on “Fully recovered

  1. Jo says:

    Ooer, you are just so clever! Love this whole story – the ebay couch, the ebay fabric, the clever resourcefulness of a spring-happy hippy..

  2. ingridlee@bigpond.com says:

    Well done there:) I take my hat off to you for managing to lay out and cut all that fabric. It takes such a lot of room! You did it with 3 kids in side! omg you’re amazing.

    Regards, Ingrid http://www.garmentingenuity.com.au

    >

    • I bribed the older 2 with cushion jumping, a rare and delightful experience. Orik was in his high chair with the tablet playing Angry Birds. Not such brilliant parenting but he thought it was awesome. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      As for lay out and cut, I lay each piece out then cut it, then repeated. It was far easier that way as I did have a little traffic with which to contend.

  3. Lynda D says:

    I would have to agree, how the hell did you manage to keep them off. Great job Jess and coordinating the other pieces of furniture using the cloth will make it all blend. Its great that they are covers and you can make another set to use while the other are being washed. I’d dry the dark brown in the shade inside out. Hey what about a winter set and a summer set of bright colours. Your skill sets amaze me. So so thankful you are back on line. I have spring energy as well. I cant wait for the weekends. Since im up at 5.30 to make hubby’s breakfast and lunch i might find myself staying up (instead of another sneaky hour’s sleep) and start the day with sunrise in the garden. Roll on spring!!!!

    • Make another set? Huh??? not this little hippy! One is enough. If they need a wash (which inevitably whey will with little people) then we can sit on the cushions covered in a blanket. And yes, they will definitely be dried either inside or in the shade and inside out too.
      Sunrise in the garden sounds lovely. I need to start getting outside early too but I am usually accompanied by at least 1 small person.

  4. These look great Jess! I am a hopeless sewer despite my desire to be otherwise.
    It sounds like you had a winter similar to mine…cosying up to the fire and I know I feel better for it. I really do think that if one is not working and has those demands on them we tend to slow more to the natural pace of life, with everything done over the warmer seasons I gave myself permission to just hibernate a bit and relax, recharge because the rest of the year seems full on!

    • This was a bit more than just relaxing though I am afraid. With some fairly serious not-good-for-me-food therapy and hiding inside films and books… Took me a while to see, let alone admit that it wasn’t just me hibernating. Still, the down time was clearly necessary and it hasn’t been all bad. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I echo what Wendy said – recharging is so important – especially with your chosen life style and a young family! The couch covers are VERY impressive!

  6. Michael says:

    Nice Job, really good colour contrast.
    So, we have these old couches at our place and we were wondering if you could….. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. narf77 says:

    With Wendy and Ms Pauline on this one Ms Hippy…you need down time and the upside of that is that you get to make beautiful cushion covers. Kudos! I suck at sewing. I couldn’t out my end results on the blog if I made cushion covers as much like being passed by a smart car the other day…its just TOO embarrassing to mention ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Practice my dear Narf – I’ve been sewing since I was 5 or so (given that I’m only 21 that means 16 years ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and also selective photography. I suck at putting in zips and the zips you will notice are NOT in the photos. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Linne says:

    Awesome job! As to the zips, I find for myself that hand-stitching them in works much better (and pinning in place well, too). Nice to see you back. I’m not entirely back, but that’s life around here . . .

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

