Limnodynastes dumerilii

Also known as the Eastern Banjo Frog or the name we like best, the Pobblebonk. 😀

I’ve spent the last few days down with the bad back and pretty much restricted to sitting and doing precious little. The problem with a bad back or other such physical ailment is that the brain is ready and raring to go but the body simply isn’t willing. It’s most frustrating. Thankfully, each day has seen a clear improvement so hopefully I can get back out into the garden soon enough. It’s been easier with the return of somewhat wintry weather though. I couldn’t have gone outside yesterday without wanting to get rather cold and wet. Today hasn’t been much better. It only helps a little though. 😦

Still, the time hasn’t been wasted. I spent a little time researching our lovely frog found whilst excavating the front garden on Saturday and Sunday. We’ve come across this frog before (here, here, here and here) but I’ve not had much luck finding a name and indeed I’ve not really even known how to start the search. This time however, our lucky little Kermit posed for several photos which made identification much easier. 🙂 And with its most distinctive call, “Bhok… Bhok”. Well, it helped. A lot! 🙂

My little Eastern Banjo Frog, released onto a hugel near the pond.

My little Eastern Banjo Frog, released onto a log near the pond.

Pete figured with its warty appearance it was a toad but I’ve not found much to suggest we have any native toads and aside from the imported Cane Toad I couldn’t find much evidence of toads in Australia. If someone knows otherwise I am most curious to know about them. 🙂

Excuse the language in the following video please. It’s too funny not to share. 🙂

So armed with this thought which seemed to fit, I searched for toads in Victoria and came across the Frogs of Australia website. I narrowed the search to Victorian frogs and then went by the photos of the frogs that looked most similar. Nothing there. So I started searching through all the Victorian frogs, listening to their calls until I came across this frog. The Eastern Banjo Frog. If you scroll down a little there is a sound bite attached of the most distinctive “Bhok” or “bonk” as they call it, call of the Pobblebonk frog. Isn’t that a great name for a frog? 😀 Pobblebonk! 🙂

They are burrowing frogs, another fact which helped identify our amphibian visitor.

They are burrowing frogs, another fact which helped identify our amphibian guest.

I’m happy to report that Wiki reports the Pobblebonk as of least concern on the conservation status which eases my mind as we have clearly been disturbing their habitat but rehoming them in the garden or the pond or the creek is all fine. 🙂 I also know our pond is in good shape as there are tadpoles in the pond. 🙂

They like to eat invertibrates which might explain finding them in my garden. We have lots of worms.

They like to eat invertebrates which might explain finding them in my garden. We have lots of worms.

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce you properly to our friendly neighbourhood frog. 😀

4 thoughts on “Limnodynastes dumerilii

  1. Lynda D says:

    Goodness, i hope your back is better soon, that’s a lot of information about a frog. HA HA you are too funny and strange….. but i like you anyway. He is certainly not going to run out of food. He’d have a banquet down the back.

  2. foodnstuff says:

    We have Pobblebonks here too. Sounds like someone strumming a banjo.

  3. narf77 says:

    What a lovely little frog and I am thinking of changing my name to Frances Pobblebonk…has a nice ring to it doncha think? 😉

  4. Linne says:

    I never heard of these before . . . and what a lovely name! I can see our friend Ms. Frances Pobblebonk now . . . but I need a photo complete with costume. I wonder if she plays the banjo . . .

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

