A native bee visited my garden

Just now I was having a yak on the phone, leaning out the one remaining unglazed window on our back deck when I saw a new buzzy in the garden. Mrs Bee was working hard, pollinating my tomatoes but she was missing her golden stripes. Her stripes were almost ice blue! My friend on the phone quickly googled and found these 2 links here and here.

My lovely visitor is a Blue Banded Bee and best of all she is a native bee! They are solitary bees so no honey to be raided by us I’m afraid (I had high hopes of a possible native been hive in the future, just for a moment) but I am so very excited to find we have these in our garden. 😀 Best of all, they are ideal pollinators for tomatoes and capsicums. 🙂

No photos I’m afraid so you will just have to believe me when I tell you my tomatoes were pollinated by a blue-banded bee. Check out the links for lots of pictures of those lovely ice-blue stripes. 🙂

9 thoughts on “A native bee visited my garden

  1. Lynda D says:

    I have a hive you can raid. Its sitting on the company’s property near Gisborne and hasn’t been raided for two years. Since its in the bush and its fairly active hive, my guess is its full of honey. Do you have someone who can do the business for you or with you.

  2. Leigh says:

    Native bees are the best! That said, I’m getting non-native bees from Texas this coming April. I ordered from there because there are chemical-free and mite resistant. I’m definitely looking forward to my own honey and beeswax.

  3. narf77 says:

    I would take up LyndaD’s kind offer if I was you but you had better make it hopper proof! Love your native bees 🙂

  4. CJ says:

    How lovely, I’m a huge fan of bees.

  5. foodnstuff says:

    I used to have them here, but haven’t seen one for ages. I once had a clump of about a dozen that would cluster on the end of a soft branch overnight, weighing it down. In the morning they’d go off somewhere and be there again the next evening. This happened for about a week and then I never saw them again. When I first saw them I thought they were all dead, they were so still. I poked gently with a blade of grass and they all wriggled around for a bit (“oh, let us be; we’re having a sleep-in”) and then settled down again.

  6. brymnsons says:

    Wow blue bees, it must be cold in your neck of the woods lol 😀
    Would have been lovely to see…

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

