Time for a cuppa

This post is short on photos I’m afraid. 😦 And since I have another cold I’m not really up for taking more. Sorry about that. Still, I do have things to share. 🙂

I’m slowly (when time permits) sharing gardening know-how with Martin and this morning he was keen to work in the garden so we went out to ready some garden beds and sow some seeds. We finished planting the last of the beans, this time about 2m² of dwarf beans – Borlotti to be precise. A bean we will dry (if the slugs don’t get to them like they’ve been at my pumpkins 😦 ). We watered, then mulched and planted through the mulch, leaving a cleared space around the seed holes. I think, given the dry and warm spring we’re having that there was no other way to go. All my weeded and unmulched beds are already turning to dust. Hence, we set to adding compost then mulching the bed to be set aside for tomatoes and started on another bed too. Sadly, we’re all out of mulch.

I found a photo from last week. Reo mesh for runner beans, inside I've planted pumpkins and corn.

I found a photo from last week. Reo mesh for runner beans, inside I’ve planted pumpkins and corn.

Weeds into the sadly neglected worm farm and a quick reshuffle of the path and it's all looking so much neater and happier.

Weeds into the sadly neglected worm farm and a quick reshuffle of the path and it’s all looking so much neater and happier.

We also planted beetroot and leeks using a similar method to the beans. All the beds have had a thorough watering before and after the mulch so hopefully they’ll hold the moisture well enough for me to finish installing the watering system or the rain arrives. It was awfully dry though. 😦

Ha, lookee, I found a couple of photos taken last week that are worth sharing. 🙂

Just a little basket but even so.

Just a little basket but even so.

Mostly chamomile and enough for a few pots of tea.

Mostly chamomile and enough for a few pots of tea.

 

Martin is off to his bands CD launch now but I was still feeling the need for the garden so I wandered over to what we call our orchard and my chamomile bush is nearly 2 ft tall and over 2 ft across and covered in flowers. A quick google search, then armed with a basket and hat a chamomile picking I went. 🙂

I also harvested some of my red clover flowers which are drying next to my chamomile. Aren’t they pretty. 🙂

I think I’ve earned myself a cup of tea. 😀

7 thoughts on “Time for a cuppa

  1. foodnstuff says:

    What do you do with the clover flowers?

  2. […] Source: Time for a cuppa | Rabid Little Hippy […]

  3. Lynda D says:

    Im late to the party again. First time ive turned my computer at home on in weeks. Miss Ya.

  4. Linne says:

    I missed this post, somehow. Lovely to find it now. Chamomile tea is so good, isn’t it? I’ve been making a mixture of green tea and mint tea, then adding lime juice and ice. I had this first in The Tea Place, my favourite place when I eat out with one of my friends. They put a couple of mint sprigs in theirs, too, which was wonderful. They called the drink a Lime Mojito. I’ve been using bought teas, but fresh would be infinitely better.

    Hope your garden does well this year. Have you thought about the milk container ollas that Narf7 has set up in Sanctuary? Might work for you, too.

    Am running out of time. Talk to you soon, my friend. ~ L

I'd love to know what you think so please leave me a comment.

